Daily Archives: December 24, 2009

Rockin’ Out to “Rock of Ages,” and a day in NYC

So a short blog tonight as I’m wildly pooped; spent the day in NYC with my wife and the in-laws; had a wonderful time. Got to see the usual late December treats in the city: The tree at Rockefeller Center, the Macy’s window, the throngs of people pushing each other out of the way as they try to cross the street. Good times.

Also got to stop in at FAO Schwarz, the greatest toy store ever, and saw the big piano you could walk on that was used in “Big” back in the 1980s. Very, very cool, still.

But the highlight of the day was my long-awaited and desired trip to the Atkinson Theatre to see “Rock of Ages.”  If you’re not familiar with the Broadway show to which I refer, it’s just about the greatest thing ever if you’re a Generation X person who loved 80s music like I did. It’s a story about a guy and a girl who move to L.A. and the Sunset Strip to try to make it big, and, well, it’s just 2-plus hours of awesomeness. I was singing every song in my seat, and playing with the cool fake lighters they handed out when the ballads were on (just about everyone in the theatre was using it for the Poison classic “Every Rose Has Its Thorn.”

It wasn’t just the music that was terrific; the writing was really funny, the acting was superb, and the costumes, well, let’s just say if you lived through the 80s, you’ll know they got the outfits exactly right. Sequins, leggings, big hair, it was perfect.

So, a great day. Definitely recommend seeing “Rock of Ages” if you’re in NY.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got to go serenade the family with “The Search is Over.”