Health care and the wingnuts. “Big Bang” rules again. And a debate about private clubs

Have to tell you, I’ve really been enjoying the hysterics of the wingnut-osophere today in the 24 hours after the health care bill finally passed.

I mean, Republicans are losing their damn minds. Screaming, ranting, raving, hyperventilating about the end of civilization as we know it, this is horrible, government running our lives, etc.

And my friends on the left are breathless, hailing this as a magnificent feat, a legislative triumph. (My mother, who used to be a calm, rational person, is so wrapped up in supporting universal health care that she rolled her window down the other day and yelled at a man protesting health care. My wife doesn’t believe me, but I swear, my mother used to be pretty apathetic about politics).

Anyway, call me wishy-washy, but as pleased as I am that President Obama showed some spine and Democrats finally got something done, I’m still waiting to see how the rest plays out before I leap up and down on a trampoline. I want to see if the public option gets put in.

I want to see just how many people are covered, and how soon that coverage will start. I feel like the bill will still be tweaked and changed a bit, so let’s see how that goes first.

In the meantime, it was fun to watch those GOP fellas go nuts. Including Mitt Romney, who blasted the bill even though it’s basically what he passed as Governor of Massachussetts.

Ah, Mitt. Here’s a little Mitt pandering for you:

**Once again “The Big Bang Theory” brought the goods Monday night. 3 or 4 fantastic, laugh-out loud lines every week, and I’ll say it again: If you’re not watching this show, you’re missing something awesome.

My favorite line from Monday’s epsiode: Raj: “Indian meditation really helped me overcome my fears.”

Sheldon: “But you still can’t speak when there are women in the room.”

Raj: “Yes, but now I can be in the same room with them without urinating.”

**OK, so I mentioned yesterday that I had a wedding at a pretty interesting place in Philadelphia on Saturday, the Inn at the Union League. It was part museum, part hotel, part private club.

One of the things that creeped me out, besides the usual portraits of old men on the wall, was that in the room where the cocktail hour was held, there were all these presidential paintings hanging above us. So I looked around, and I saw Dwight Eisenhower, Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan, and both Bushes. It took me a few seconds, and then I realized that it was intentional that they were all Republicans. No Carter, no Clinton, and certainly no Obama.

Later, that got me to thinking about private clubs like this. Of course they have the right to exist, and keep out whoever they want. But patronizing them and attending events they sponsor would bother me greatly.

Somehow, when talking about this with my wife, we got around to comparing it to how Augusta National Golf Club doesn’t admit women, and that gets protested, while private clubs who exclude African-Americans/Jews/women don’t.

She said it’s because The Masters is a huge public event televised by CBS, and by showing the tournament, CBS tacitly endorses the chauvinistic attitude of Augusta National, and that all the protests should go toward CBS.

I don’t know, I think it’s a distinction without a difference. Bigtory and intolerance are unacceptable whereever they’re found, whether it’s publicized or not.

One response to “Health care and the wingnuts. “Big Bang” rules again. And a debate about private clubs

  1. No, I am far from delirious about this so called health reform bill. It is not health care reform;it’s help the insurance companies get richer and richer. Yep, this was sure the “change we can believe in,” wasn’t it!! Your president and his cohorts made a deal early on with the insurance companies that the public option would not be in the final bill.(Just ask Thom Hartmann about that. ) I am signing off to politics because it will always be business as usual. I’m sick of it.

Leave a Reply

