Daily Archives: November 10, 2010

You can now make a cell call from Everest. And a nice moment of human compassion I saw

I’m not sure how I feel about this. At first I was annoyed, but then I was sorta like, “Of course this happened.”
What I’m talking about is last week, a company called Ncell announced that it had put up the first cell phone tower on Mount Everest.
So now after you achieve one of history’s most incredible accomplishments, you can whip out your Blackberry and tell all your friends about it.
I am a giant contradiction when to cell phones. I’m certainly an addict, and love that you can reach out and get in touch with anyone, anywhere, just about anytime.
But I also got annoyed when New York City allowed cell phone usage in the subways. And I feel we’re missing, as a society, those moments of quiet and peacefulness we used to have so often.
So yeah, I don’t know. I guess it’s cool, and probably safer, to have cell phones work on Mount Everest.
But it seems like one more way that noise is interfering in our lives.

**Was reminded again Tuesday night about the basic goodness of people. A very popular high school volleyball coach in my area suffered a tragedy last week, when her 10-year-old son was hit by a car while walking near the school.
The boy was in critical condition for a while, but he’s now doing better and is stable in the hospital.
Anyway, the coach’s team is in the state playoffs, and obviously she’s been distracted for the past several days. But Tuesday night, in the regional semifinal, she returned to the sidelines. The game was at an opposing gym, and still, the support for the coach was overwhelming. A donation basket to help cover medical expenses raised what looked to be hundreds of dollars. Fans chanted the coach’s name when she was first introduced before the match.
And when the match was over, and the coach’s team had lost, small group after small group came up to her to offer embraces,  kind words, and to show support.
It was really something to see, watching how touched she was by the outpouring of love.