Daily Archives: February 5, 2011

Mark Kelly is doing the right thing. “Dead Poets Society” and my favorite last scene. And my favorite Super Bowl ad ever

Mark Kelly is the husband of Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords, the woman who miraculously survived a gunshot to the head last month in Arizona.
Kelly has been by his wife’s side ever since as she’s recovered, as any good husband would (Pearlman and I were discussing this Friday night, how the media is making such a huge deal that he’s been by her side the whole time. Where the hell should he be? He’s her husband!).
Kelly is an astronaut, and quite an accomplished one. His announcement Friday that he would be keeping his commitment to NASA, and commanding the space shuttle Endeavor on its two week-mission into space in April, at first struck me as wrong.
Shouldn’t he stay inches away from his wife at all times, as she recovers? Isn’t that what he’s supposed to do, especially given the tragedy that she just endured?
But then I thought more about it, and now I couldn’t be more supportive of Kelly. If Giffords’ near-death experience taught Kelly anything, it showed him how precious life is, and how instantly it could all be over.
In one second, we could all have our existence snuffed out.
So with that being the case, and Giffords making remarkable progress, why shouldn’t Kelly go into outer space, likely for the last time? He doesn’t know if he’ll ever get this chance again; he could be hit by a bus tomorrow.
Mark Kelly is seizing the day, and living every moment and taking every opportunity like it could be his last.
Good for you, Mark Kelly. And have a safe flight.

**Thinking of Mark Kelly and the “seize the day” moments in all of our lives made me think of one of my favorite movies of all time, “Dead Poets Society.” And my favorite last scene of a movie ever, this classic from Dead Poets. I get chills every time I watch it. So good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s8UL_9R_W-Y#t=3m25s.

And another classic scene from the movie here.

**So of course Sunday is the Super Bowl, and like most people I get just as interested in the new commercials as the actual game (I think the game will be terrific this year, though; Packers 23, Steelers 17 is the official Wide World of Stuff prediction).
Someone, I think MSN.com, this week ran some clips of the best Super Bowl ads ever. And happily, my favorite made the list. I once again present to you Terry Tate, Office Linebacker: