Daily Archives: February 9, 2011

Duke-Carolina tonight. So pumped up. Disney invades the the maternity ward. And Jimmer-mania continues

Duke-Carolina. Tonight. One of my favorite sports days of the year, the first Duke-Carolina game of the season.
I’ve been psyched for a week. Been waiting for it since October.
This is the best damn rivalry in all of sports, and I don’t want to hear a peep out of you Yankees-Red Sox or Ohio State-Michigan people. If you don’t believe me, check out this excellent piece by my good friend Andrew Jones, who despite being a Republican is a hell of a nice fellow.

The history, the bad blood, the eight miles separating them, I love it all.
Felt very confident about this game a couple weeks ago. My Blue Devils were flying high, and the Heels were struggling.
Now, I’m a little more nervous. UNC has really gotten its act together the last few weeks; Harrison Barnes has become what we thought he’d be, Kendall Marshall is mastering the point, and John Henson scares me.
Oh, I still know Duke will win. But I’m nervous. I’ll be pacing around my house, cursing, throwing one of my three Duke hats I’ve chosen to wear tonight, for most of the game.
If it’s close at the end, I’ll be in my familiar “end of tight game involving team I love” pose, which is me, sitting on the floor very close to the TV, hands around my knees, rocking back and forth. I’m comfortable there.
Duke. Carolina. 9 p.m. tonight. ESPN. It’s on.

A hype video to get you (and let’s face it, me) amped up:

**This story troubled me on a number of levels. The Walt Disney Company, apparently not satisfied with having 99 percent of American children under its control, has now contracted with a company to give Disney baby products to newborns and their mothers.
While they’re still in the hospital. Seriously.
It’s disgusting if you ask me. Taking advantage of a mother and newborn to hawk your product is beyond reprehensible. But hey, it’s never too early to start recruiting customers, right?
Just creepy.

**Finally, if you’ve ever wondered what it would sound like if 7-foot-6 ex-NBA player Shawn Bradley sang a cover of a Bon Jovi song in honor of a BYU player, well, wonder no more!
Jimmer Fredette, the darling of American sports media this winter, has some fans in Bradley and some other former BYU players. They did a music video set to Bon Jovi’s “Wanted Dead or Alive,” but with the words changed.
It’s so awful it must be watched. I promise when you’re done, I’ll give you those 3 minutes of your life back.