Daily Archives: September 9, 2011

A subway etiquette question. “Rescue Me” goes out in style. And the solution to cold toilet seats!

A subway etiquette question for my awesome readers:
So I’m on the F train the other day, on my way home from Manhattan back to Queens. It’s about 6 p.m. so of course the train is mad crowded, and with every seat taken I’m standing in a row of people right in front of the people sitting down on the benches.
After about 20 minutes of the ride, a seated person right in front of me gets up, creating a chance to sit down. There’s an older woman standing next to me, so being a sensitive male and all, I tap her on the shoulder and point out the seat to her, should she want it.
She sits down and smiles while quietly saying “Thanks.” A little while later, the subway is still crowded and I’m still standing up with a crowd. At the next stop three people get up from the seats in front of me, and so I grab one of them.
A woman who was standing near me shoots me a look and half-sniffs at me.
I quickly say “did you want to sit down?” and she shook her head.

So I ask you: Am I, as a male in 2011, supposed to offer a subway seat to every woman standing near me before I sit down? Or is one enough? I mean, I felt a little guilty when the second woman shot me that look, but I mean geez, I was tired, too.
It’s just so hard to know the rules on these things.

**I get emotionally attached to great television shows.
Especially when I’ve watched every episode of them, from the pilot all the way through.
Seriously, think about it: How many shows can you say you watched every single episode, and including watching it from the beginning the first time it aired? Not many, right?
But with “Rescue Me,” I was there right from the start, from the summer of 2004 and Franco’s first joke about how it was harder to get women now, being a firefighter, since in the few years after 9/11 it was so easy.
There for the incredible first three seasons, as the show combined raunchy humor and gut-wrenching drama. There when it went off the rails there for a couple of seasons, before coming back really strong last season and this one.
If you’re a fan, I hope you watched Wednesday’s series finale by now. If not, SKIP THIS NEXT PART.
I liked the last show a lot. Sure, I was seriously pissed off at the beginning, when it looked like all of Ladder 62 had perished save for Lou. But as almost always happens with “Rescue Me,” it was just a dream sequence. It angered me that it was Lou who died, but his poignant eulogy at the beginning, and his self-eulogy in his letter to be opened only after his death, made up for it.
I also loved how the final scene connected to the first big scene in the show’s history, as Denis Leary blistered the new firefighters who’d just graduated about honor, respect, and courage.
No television program I’ve ever seen combined the hilarious and the tragic as well as “Rescue Me.” At its best, it was as good as any show I’ve ever seen.
If you haven’t ever watched it, I recommend it highly (The whole series is live streaming on Netflix).
When it ended, with the shot of the New York skyline still obviously missing those two Towers, my heart caught in my throat.
And I yelled “Noooo!” at the TV, as the ending credits rolled.
That’s what happens when you get attached to something great. You get really, really sad when it ends.

**And finally for this Friday, I give you a product that solves a problem few of us were really complaining about: the cold toilet seat.
I give you… the Toastie Tush!