Daily Archives: September 15, 2011

Fatherhood makes men’s testosterone drop. The Glen Rice-Sarah Palin fling: Wow. And Spacey channels the greats

This story in the New York Times the other day had me asking all sorts of questions.

According to a study in the scientific journal The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, the testosterone level in men drops significantly after they become a father.
And what’s even more interesting is that the more they are involved in their kid’s upbringing (reading them stories, changing diapers, etc.) the more the testosterone seems to drop.
On one hand, as a non-scientist, I might be able to explain this. When a man does child-rearing things like cleaning up dirty poopy diapers and reading the kid a bedtime story, his natural male aggressive instincts might be lowered.
And this is a good thing, I think. We’re so conditioned as men that testosterone is everything, we have to have a lot of it, yada yada yada.
But if being a good father makes me have less testosterone, then sign me up right now. There are millions of other men who are so caught up in their own selves that they would see this study as a problem.
I see it as a welcome scientific sign that testosterone has nothing to do with how good of a man you are.

**Stumbled across this on YouTube tonight and it made me laugh hard, yet again. Kevin Spacey, channeling Marlon Brando, Christopher Walken, Johnny Carson, and Al Pacino:

**Finally, this totally jolted me awake Wednesday morning. According to Joe McGuiness’ new book on Sarah Palin due out soon, everyone’s favorite right-wing nutjob had a one-night stand with NBA star Glen Rice when he was playing in a college tournament in Alaska in 1987.

This was a year before she met Todd, so clearly basketball players didn’t do it for her, but snow-machine racers did.
I just can’t wrap my head around this one. The best comments from Twitter that I saw on this: “I wonder if she could see Russia from on top of Glen Rice (Chris Jones said that one), and my friend Rob Kalesse saying “she was on him like white on rice, baby.”