Daily Archives: November 11, 2011

An all-good news Friday! Nikki Minaj makes a dream come true. Remembering No. 11 on 11/11/11. And a blind teen runner finds her way

It’s Friday and I’m all about bringing you good news. I’m going to try to make this a weekly thing here on the blog, only writing about positive, optimistic, upbeat stuff on Fridays (because don’t we all want to feel good heading into the weekend), but like with a lot of things on this blog, I don’t always follow through on my “regular feature” ideas.

Anyway, we’ll see how it goes. So to start Good News Fridays, I give you a clip of someone I’ve never, ever written about. Nikki Minaj is apparently a famous singer who dresses weird and I suppose I should be embarrassed, pop culturally, to admit I know nothing else about her.

But because of this clip I just saw for the first time, I’m a big fan. On the “Ellen” show last month two little girls appeared who are huge fans of Minaj’s, and well, pretty darn talented singers as well. Check out what happens…

Next, on 11/11/11, I think it’s appropriate to pay tribute to the greatest No.11 in sports history. A man who accomplished something for the New York Rangers that I never thought could be done.
Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Mark Messier, and a very short video of his hat trick in Game 6 of the 1994 Eastern Conference finals. I never, EVER get tired of watching this…

**Finally, a heartwarming story about an Ohio teenager named Sami Stoner. She suffers from Stargardt’s disease, a form of macular degeneration which leads to complete blindness.
Sami loves running, but in her deteriorating condition it seemed she wouldn’t be able to compete in races with her high school team.
But then Sami got a seeing-eye dog, and well, read this and realize once again the power of the human spirit…