Daily Archives: November 15, 2011

A “Rock of Ages” casting tragedy I can’t ignore. Sayonara, NBA season. And a terrific “SNL” skit you shouldn’t miss.

OK I know I may be like, months behind upon learning this news, but since I just found out about it I feel the need to vent immediately.

I saw the terrific Broadway show “Rock of Ages” a couple of years ago. It was 100 percent up my alley, with awesome 80s music, really funny dialogue in the script, and excellent performances.
And yes, I’d heard they were making a movie out of the show, some big Hollywood blockbuster.

But now I discover that Tom FREAKING Cruise is playing one of the leads?  Tom Cruise is playing Stacee Jaxx, the dreamer of a rock star who believes Def Leppard and Poison are on the road to eternal happiness? Tom Cruise???

Look, I loved Tom Cruise when he was sane. Big fan of almost all of his movies. “All the Right Moves,” “Born on the Fourth of July,” “Rain Man,” you name it.
But he is SO terribly wrong for this part. And the rest of the cast looks fantastic, too; Bryan Cranston, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Alec Baldwin, etc.
I just hope Cruise doesn’t wreck this movie for me.  If he ruins “Pour Some Sugar On Me” for the rest of my life, I’ll never forgive him.

**Well, it looks like there won’t be an NBA season. The players rejected the owners’ latest proposal, David Stern threw a hissy fit and blamed agents and threw around terms like “nuclear winter,” and it’s all getting really nasty.

My reaction? Yawn. The NBA Finals were exciting last year, but mostly because it was fun seeing LeBron fail. The pro basketball product has interested me in years; I much prefer the college scene. (For example, a certain Coach whose last name starts with K is going for the all-time wins record tonight. There’s a slight chance I may watch).

As always in these fights between billionaires and millionaires, I feel sorry for neither side. I do feel bad for the vendors, concession stand workers, and local businesses near NBA arenas in NBA cities, who will suffer greatly because of this idiotic stalemate.
Those are the true victims here.

**Finally, I never watch “SNL” anymore but one of the people I follow on Twitter pointed me to this gem from last week’s show. Really, really funny. It involves Adele, a good cry, parakeets, and window washers who get emotional. What more could you want in a four-minute video clip?