Daily Archives: December 7, 2011

How classroom teaching is helping me with my acting bug. The male weatherman who’s wearing women’s panties. And the Jimmy V speech never gets old

Sometimes it takes a while for things to click in my head. Like the connection I see so obviously tonight, after not really seeing it so much during my first five months into this strange new world of classroom teaching.

Tuesday was an odd day, as I had to make two presentations to two different groups of students. First on Tuesday morning, I was observed by my grad school professor teaching the 9th graders I’ve been working with in a New York City school.

 

 

 

Then Tuesday night, I had to give a short lesson plan presentation to my fellow grad school students as part of an assignment.

Two different audiences, with a total of about an hour spent in front of them. And I realized that after a couple of decades of desperately wanting to be an actor, suddenly I sorta am one.

I’ve always wanted to be a thespian; I’d say it’s a secret dream but I tell everyone who asks me “what would be your dream career?” that it would be on a stage somewhere. I’m a total ham, always loving the spotlight since I’ve been an adult (I was more shy and cautious as a kid, but have gotten less inhibited as I’ve gotten older).

I’ve always wanted to act, but it’s never been a realistic career option. Now as a budding teacher, I get to be on stage all the time. Three or four times a day, five days a week, 40 weeks a year, you’re up there in front of an audience of 30, some of whom are sleeping and staring out the window, but at least a few who are a captive group, waiting to be entertained.

So, OK, no students ever applaud, or buy tickets to see my show. But I’m finding that being on stage is really, really fun.

Think I can get the kids to start buying tickets?

**Well, this is disturbing. A Pennsylvania weatherman is frustrated with the Colts going 0-12 this year. So he made a bet with his viewers before Sunday’s game: If the Colts lose again, he’ll wear his wife’s panties during his weather reports for the rest of the year. And of course, the Colts lost.

I hope Jim Kosek’s wife doesn’t mind sharing those Victoria’s Secret items he bought her last Christmas.

**ESPN, as it does every year, has declared this week on the network “Jimmy V week,” in honor of the late, great North Carolina State head coach Jim Valvano, who died of cancer in 1993 but remains a vibrant symbol of the fight against this hideous disease.

As it does every year during the cancer fundraiser, ESPN ran one of the most beautiful speeches I’ve ever seen, Valvano’s talk at the 1993 ESPY awards. If you need a little pick-me-up today, or just want to see how inspiring a dying man’s words can be, watch this.  This was in March, 1993, about six weeks before he died.

Chokes me up every time. If you don’t have time for the whole thing, just hang in for the last 5 minutes…