Daily Archives: March 23, 2012

“Mad Men” is back, and I am happy. A 2-year-old cuts a rug on the dance floor. And glorious pictures of spring

**Follow me on Twitter here.

After being off the air for what seems like a hundred years, one of my favorite shows is back on TV this Sunday.

The men and women of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce are back! I am talking, of course, about “Mad Men,” the totally awesome AMC show about an ad agency from the 1960s.
I have no idea why they took 17 months between episodes, but I’ve gotten over that. This show’s brilliant acting and writing will quickly make us loyal fans forget about the hiatus.
I wish I could tell you what may happen Sunday: if Don Draper really did marry his secretary; if Joan had her baby, and what’s going on with Peggy these days. But the show’s creator, Matthew Weiner, is ridiculously paranoid about details of the show leaking, so even critics have no idea what will happen.

I only hope the show picks up where it left off last season, which was very strong. Don’s proposal came totally out of left field, so methinks that, if the show follows its pattern and skips ahead two years between seasons, Donnie boy is divorced and sleeping with everything that moves again.

And I’m sure I’ll have new reasons to hate Pete Campbell this year.

“Mad Men” is back. Two hour season premiere Sunday at 9. I am happy.

**And now, what’s becoming a weekly staple of Good News Friday here on the blog: Cute kids, dancing like crazy.  Seriously, how good is this kid (whose name is William Stokkebroe) at channeling Elvis? His parents should hire him out for weddings and bar mitzvahs.

**I thought I left 80 degree days in March behind when I moved back to New York from Florida last year, but apparently not. Man oh man has it been warm in NYC this week, almost like it’s late May or something.
As it’s been warm across the country, the good folks at Boston.com’s The Big Picture photo site have had plenty of gorgeous spring photos to choose from. They put together this fantastic gallery that I think will put a smile on your face. My favorites are No. 3 (above), No. 10 and No. 15.