Daily Archives: April 26, 2012

Rules for men in a public bathroom (women, read this!). Obama and Jimmy Fallon “slow jam” the news. And a brave college kid opens up about his tragic past

Women, there are some things you’ll just never understand about men.
How we can sit there for 20 minutes listening to you talk about your day and then have no idea what you just said.
How we can stay up at 2 a.m. flipping through 57 movie channels hoping to see someone naked.
These are the kinds of questions there are no answers to, ladies. But today, I will do my best to answer one of your queries that has long gone unanswered:

What the hell are the rules for men in public bathrooms? Glad you asked. Because there are many.
I turn it over to the fine people at goodmenproject.com, who have broken down the 7 rules of men’s bathroom etiquette.
I have studied this document thoroughly, and I can tell you that all of these rules are 100 percent true. I cannot emphasize enough the importance of Rule No. 1 and Rule No. 4 here; these are unbreakable.

Ladies, you’re welcome. And if you have any further questions, I’m here to help.

**I don’t have too many rules on this blog, but anytime a sitting President of the United States takes part in a late-night comic’s skit and pulls it off well, I’m gonna put it here. Mr. Obama was on “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” the other night, and along with Fallon, the POTUS “slow-jammed” the news. Check it out…

**Finally, I urge you strongly to read this column. Matt Watts is a graduating senior at the University of Florida, and a writer for the school’s newspaper, The Daily Alligator. He’s a little older than most students, and upon his farewell from the paper, he penned one of the most brutally honest, brave and eloquent columns I”ve ever read from a college student.

I almost hate to give away what he’s writing about, but maybe it’ll make you more likely to click: A few years ago, Watts’ mother told his father she wanted a divorce. He responded by shooting her, point-blank, in the face at the family home.

It’s a tragedy beyond comprehension, yet Watts beautifully puts it into prose here.
What a wonderful piece of writing.