Daily Archives: October 25, 2009

The idiotic nature of NFL fines, my 82nd Airborne question answered, and a funny hoops video

First, a quick laugh to start off your Sunday. I offer maybe the funniest Youtube clip in my “Favorites” section. I truly have watched this 75 times and laugh each time. I know it seems mean but it’s hilarious (and I’m sure the kid was OK):

**OK, now to some NFL stupidity. It has always boggled my mind how unbelievably nit-picky the NFL is when it comes to fining players about their uniform. Like, guys get fined for their socks being 1/2 inch too high. Last season a Pittsburgh Steelers player, Ryan Clark, was fined $5,000 for wearing eye black with the No. 21 on it, a tribute to his slain friend, Sean Taylor. Seriously? Eye black is a fineable offense?

Well, the NFL uniform Nazis were at it again this week. Chad Johnson (I refuse to call him Ochocinco), who has deserved PLENTY of the fines he’s gotten in his career, was fined this week because in the Bengals’ last game, (wait for it), he wore a different colored chin-strap than he was supposed to.

They also fined Saints linebacker Jonathan Vilma $10,000 for a helmet-to-helmet hit in Eli Manning.

So let me get this straight: A dude wearing a different colored chin strap is fined the same amount as a guy who went head-first into a quarterback, possibly causing him severe head trauma and, theoretically, ending his career.

Sounds about right to me.

God the NFL is so moronic with these uniform fines. And yet nobody in the media really questions it. It’s like everyone’s SO afraid of the NFL.

82ndAirborne

Finally, a bit of old business. I asked in a blog past last week how come we always hear about the 82nd Airborne Division, and not, like, the 37th, or 56th. Well, my old friend Tim Maese, once a co-worked at Rainbow Video in Commack, N.Y. (ah, those were the days, $4.25 an hour and all the popcorn we could eat! One day I’ll blog about my glory days as a video store clerk) has found an answer for me.

Read this informative article to learn the reasons behind the 82nd’s prevalence in the media. Thanks Tim.