Daily Archives: May 16, 2010

“Field of Dreams” is up for sale; I am sad. And the most bizarre cover of Journey you’ll ever see

If you’re a good friend or a relative, you probably know that I’m a little obsessed with the movie “Field of Dreams.”

Not only is it my favorite movie ever, not only do I believe that there are two kinds of people in the world (those that love “Field of Dreams” and those that don’t have a heart), but as a teenager (I was 14 when it came out) I often delighted my father by simply blurting out parts of the movie, verbatim.

I could spend 3,000 words explaining why I love the movie, even after 100 viewings. I could tell you that visiting the actual movie site in Dyersville, Iowa is on my “Bucket List.”

But you don’t want to hear all that today. Instead, I’ll just tell you I was sad to hear that family who owns the farm the movie was filmed on has decided to sell.

Becky and Don Lansing, who actually only own 2/3 of the property the movie was made on (don’t ask me why I know that), have kept the field exactly as it was in the movie, and don’t charge admission at the field.

People of all ages come out there, April-November, and play baseball. With strangers. And they walk out of the corn field and wait for magic to happen.

Sure it’s just a movie site. But to those of us who worship the film, it’s a shrine. So I just hope that whoever buys Becky and Don’s property don’t turn the field into something tacky.

I hope they don’t overcommercialize it, and add on all kinds of crap.

Just leave it alone, I’d ask the new owners. It’s a sacred place.

**So at a benefit to save the rainforests the other night in New York City, there stood on stage one of the oddest collections of musical singing talent you’ll see.

Elton John, Lady Gaga, Sting, Bruce Springsteen, Debbie Harry, and Shirley Bassey all gathered round to sing “Don’t Stop Believin.” It was pretty awesome, especially when the mostly-naked men came on toward the end. Enjoy: