Glenn Beck’s possible blindness, a trip to Wrigley, and drunk college girls who brought back memories

**OK, I promise, no more “Field of Dreams” posts for a while. But man, it was awesome.

I’ve always believed that karma pays you back not just in the afterlife, but in your time on Earth too.

Glenn Beck has been one of the most despicable human beings in media for the past, oh, seven years or so. First on CNN Headline News, now on Fox News, he has repeatedly made racist, sexist, anti-gay remarks on his television show and in interviews.

Now, while I try not to wish ill on people (except quarterbacks in the NFL when they’re playing the Jets), I wasn’t exactly crying when I heard this today, while web-surfing in my Iowa hotel room this morning.

Mr. Beck has been told by doctors that he has an eye disease called macular dystrophy, and that he may go blind in the next year.

Something tells me that even if he loses his vision, he’ll still see racism in Barack Obama, injustices against white Southerners, and absolutely no reason Sarah Palin shouldn’t be President.

What a schmuck he is.

**Had my second-ever Wrigley Field experience Tuesday night, and my first under the lights.

It was fabulous; Cubs were down 7-1 in the fourth, and rallied to score the next THIRTEEN runs, and won 14-7. If you’ve never been, and you’re any kind of a sports fan, I implore you to visit the ballpark before you die.

It really is a shrine, with so many wonderful elements (the ivy on the walls, the sellout crowds, the old-time feel of the place) that even if the game is terrible, you won’t be sorry you came. I mean, my Dad and I went to a Tuesday night game in late July between two really bad teams this year (Cubs and Astros), and there were still 36,401 people in attendance (I counted).

Best T-shirt I saw in Wrigleyville: “Jesus said to the Cubs: Don’t do anything until I get back.”

**The real fun at the game, though, came from the drunk college girls sitting in front of us. Quick summary: Brunette and blonde try to buy beer in about 2nd inning from beer vendor. He appears to turn down their attempt because their ID’s weren’t believable. Girls get pissed off, and then leave seats, disappearing for about 40 minutes.

When they come back, man are they in a better mood! Laughing, swearing, high-fiving everyone in sight as the Cubbies come back. I’m guessing they had at least 2-3 beers each while they were gone.
Then, when the blonde loses her cigarettes, she asks for help finding them. Instead, I find her wallet under the seat, which she thought she lost. Man were she and the brunette relieved and excited. The brunette spent the next 20 minutes thanking us profusely, clutching our hands, grabbing my face, and telling us she could get us a free round of golf in Chicago because she works at a country club near here.

“Just give me your cell phone and I’ll put my number in,” she declared joyfully. “Then you can call me and we can set it up!”

I passed. But watching someone get drunk that quick, and have their entire outlook and mood change, sure reminded me of 1994 and the Tau Kappa Epsilon house at Delaware, all over again.

2 responses to “Glenn Beck’s possible blindness, a trip to Wrigley, and drunk college girls who brought back memories

  1. Love the T-Shirt quote. Had to sit before I fell over from laughing. Boys thought I was having some kind of fit.

  2. Wow…thank you for reminding me what hateful dirtbags liberals can be. I ran across your post doing research for my own eye problems . As like Mr. Beck I am going blind and the Drs give me little hope for keeping my sight but I guess since I’m a conservative I deserve it. For the record I hope one of your loved ones dies if you are capable of loving so that I may say. “damn he wished another person ill and karma kicked him in the ass”
    Anyone who relishes others problems is a weak minded idiot which explains why you think Beck is a racist. Educate yourself dumbass. Beck doesn’t like Obama because he disagrees with his policies but since you probably can’t put a coherent arguement together your only rebutle is to cry racism. If it weren’t for conservatives slavery wouldn’t have ended when it did, Democrats created the KKK as a fringe organization(PBS Special if you think I’m wrong) and the Democratic party tried to filibuster Blacks getting to vote and integration into schools.
    Oh and if you happen to be Black you should thank your happy ass that my ancestors fought and died so the slaves could be freed.
    So the next time you want to cry racism in the Tea Party or other conservatives remember it was DEMOCRATS like Byrd that were lynching Blacks in the south. This is the truth that cannot be changed.

Leave a Reply

