Daily Archives: October 10, 2010

The resort that’s only hiring blondes. And my problem with college football

You’ve got to love a great inspired idea. Even if it’s wildly discriminatory and generally just pretty damn goofy.
A company called Olialia (pronounced, of course, ooh-la-la) in Lithuania wants to open up a resort in the Maldive Islands where only blondes can work. They say they want to “offset stereotypes” that blondes are dumb, incompetent, etc.

Hey, I’m all for a company combating stereotypes. Who cares if it’s discriminatory, it’s a perfect hook to set your resort apart!

Another reason I love this story is it gives me an excuse to put this video on my blog, Julie Brown singing “Because I’m a Blonde.” I remember hearing it in the 1980s and laughing out loud at least 4-5 times.
Enjoy…

**So I watched some college football Saturday, which is unusual for me. I don’t care much about college football (except for my Delaware Blue Hens, who are ranked no.2 in Division I-AA, baby!) for a lot of reasons, and I remembered one of them on Saturday.
I was watching Alabama lose to South Carolina, a pretty big upset. Alabama is coached by Nick Saban, a Grade-A scumbag. South Carolina is coached by Steve Spurrier, also a Grade-A jerk with an ego the size of Texas.
And then I realized that BOTH of these schools have been in trouble with the NCAA in the past, and that so many of the top college football programs (Florida, Alabama, LSU, Tennessee) either get caught cheating or have more than a handful of criminals on their team.

Maybe I’m naive, but college basketball, a true passion of mine, doesn’t seem to have as many cheaters.
But in college football, I find there’s fewer and fewer teams I can root for every year.
Plus, don’t even get me started on the ridiculousness of the BCS.