The Rangers are in the playoffs, and I am happy. Colbert has Beck withdrawl. And Gail Collins hits a home run

Good news for Wide World of Stuff readers who like hockey: I’ll be writing about it more for a little while now that my New York Rangers have crawled into the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Bad news for Wide World of Stuff readers who don’t like hockey: I’ll be writing about it a little more now that my New York Rangers have crawled into the Stanley Cup playoffs.
Oh don’t worry, this baby won’t turn into All Pucks, All the time (though when I was a hockey writer in New York, one time some fans who were mad at something I wrote held up a “Trade Lewis for Pucks” sign. I was so proud. Gotta find the picture of that sign.)
But whew, the Rangers did so many good things this season that to see them miss the playoffs in the last game of the season for the second year in a row would’ve been wildly painful.
As it is, my boys beat the Devils Saturday, then lucked out when Carolina gagged, losing to Tampa 6-2, allowing the Rangers to clinch the eighth and final spot in the East.

Can they now beat Washington, the top seed? Well, the Rangers took ’em to 7 games a couple years ago, and won three of four from the Caps this season … nah, it won’t happen. But I’m still totally psyched for playoff hockey, starting Wednesday.

**I missed this last week but a Facebook friend alerted me to it, and I laughed pretty hard.
Stephen Colbert, afraid he’ll be missing Glenn Beck, has prepared accordingly:

Vodpod videos no longer available.

**A hat tip to my friend and fellow WordPress blogger Dave Markowitz (he writes about baseball and music)  for tipping me off to this outstanding column by Gail Collins, once again delightfully tweaking the insane Donald Trump. Seriously, when even Marco Rubio is telling Trump to cool down, that should be a sign.

Still, as I said last week a GOP prez debate involving Trump, Palin and Romney would immediately attain “save until I delete” status on my DVR.

Leave a Reply

