Daily Archives: December 9, 2011

A (mostly) good-news Friday: Jon Stewart speaks the absolute truth. The happiest fast-food worker ever. And a classic “West Wing” scene

Sadly, it sometimes takes Jon Stewart to point out terrifyingly obvious flaws in our Congress.
So even though the news discussed here (the absolutely insane amendment that passed in Congress this week allowing for the indefinite detention of American citizens suspected of terrorism) is hardly good, it warms my heart to know that as much of the American media continues to ignore and soft-pedal this issue, we have Jon Stewart to point out how absurd our America has become.

**Let me put a smile on your face by introducing you to JC Stroble, who works at a fast-food restaurant in Spartanburg, S.C. He’s 70, he’s blind, and he’s worked at this joint for more than 50 years. He’s an American institution, and I love him after watching this…

**Finally, just because I hadn’t seen this in a while and it cracks me up every time…