A Happy Passover and Easter to you all. A 7-year-old pizza tosser amazes me. And a love letter found, 60 years later

To finish up pre-Bruce concert week, here’s a clip that has a personal meaning to me. When I was in my karaoke heyday in the late 1990s, when my buddies in Wilmington, N.C. and I used to badly sing our hearts out at local watering holes, I often closed with this. It’s probably the first song 99 percent of Americans think of when they think of the Boss. Can’t wait to hear it live. Enjoy.

Happy Friday to all of my wonderful readers. It’s happy for many reasons, including for me the fact that I’m on vacation from student teaching for 10 days (yay!). I’m also excited because I’m home for Passover for the first time in a long time, and get to have a couple of seders this weekend (when else do I actually like the taste of gefilte fish? Only once a year.)

And a Happy Easter and happy Passover to you all. And now, on with Good News Friday…

OK, this kid has some serious skills. I think pizza-tossing is a very hard thing to do, yet a dude who’s not even in double digits in age can do this and look cool doing it. Check out this 7-year-old with the dough in his hands…

**Finally, a sweet love story to send you into the weekend. When Dick Hauck and his girlfriend Arlene were courting 60 years ago, he wrote her a letter every day, and she wrote him just as often.

But the letter Dick wrote to Arlene, proposing marriage to her, had been lost forever. Until last week, when Arlene’s childhood home was being remodeled and a contractor found it in the walls. And then returned it to the happily married couple, 60 years after it was written.

Beautiful. Here’s a video of the happy couple, still in love after all these years.

Leave a Reply

