A Secret Service disgrace. Pulitzer day still excites me. And Tupac Shakur comes back to life (sort of)

Didn’t really read too much about this developing scandal involving the Secret Service and prostitutes in Colombia until Monday, and I have to say the details that are starting to emerge are pretty stunning.
So many questions spring to mind: Did these guys really think no one would find out about this? How, exactly, did men whose entire careers and reputations are based upon secrecy, and no one knowing who they are, think it was a good idea to go out and patronize hookers in a foreign country?

And perhaps the biggest question of all: Didn’t these guys ever see the brilliant movie “In the Line of Fire” (above)? Clint Eastwood, now that’s how a Secret Service agent should act. Great movie if you haven’t seen it.

**Even though I’m not a full-time writer anymore, the day Pulitzer Prizes are announced still excites me a little. Monday was that day this year.

Movies have the Oscars, TV has the Emmys, and we journalists have the Pulitzers, still and all in 2012 the most important award or honor a scribe can achieve.
I’m extremely fortunate to know two people who have won the award, and both were well-deserved, even though both downplay it in conversation (I was horrified when I visited my friend Kristen’s house last December had her framed Pulitzer certificate was on the floor. “We had nowhere to put it when we moved in!” she exclaimed. Lemme tell you, if I had won a Pulitzer, that baby would be hanging from every front door I ever live in. And I’d want it buried with me.)

Anyhow, there were some very interesting developments this year. For the first time ever, two online only publications, Huffington Post and Politico, won Pulitzers. As expected, the fantastic reporting by a 24-year-old named Sara Ganim, on the Penn State sex abuse story, was honored (that’s her after finding out she won).
And a wonderful columnist from Chicago named Mary Schmich won a prize; she writes with heart and compassion and really should be more famous than she is.

Check out this beautiful column on growing up poor that was part of her Pulitzer submission.

**I know this will shock you, but I was never a big fan of Tupac Shakur when he was alive. Never liked rap music, but I acknowledge that he’s a legend since everyone I know who likes rap says that in his prime, there was no one better than ‘Pac. Of course, his prime was cut short when he was murdered in Las Vegas in 1996.
So it had to be all kinds of weird (and cool) to see this the other night, at the Coachella Music Festival in California, when Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg introduced … an incredibly lifelike-looking version of Tupac.

Using some very impressive hologram technology, Dre and Snoop (and some really talented technical people, I’m guessing) brought Tupac back from the grave to sing at the festival.

I don’t really know how this was done, and I don’t like the music. But damn, it’s all kinds of creepy and cool.

One response to “A Secret Service disgrace. Pulitzer day still excites me. And Tupac Shakur comes back to life (sort of)

  1. Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would
    be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

