A love story, starring me and a great woman. The brilliant HP commercial with babies. And driverless cars in Nevada? Yep.

The first part of Good News Friday today may only be exciting news to me and my family and friends. But I share, because my readers are my family, too (especially since sometimes you all yell at me).

Nine months ago I received a text message from a good friend. I had just moved back to N.Y. after my recent divorce and career change, and had started going on some blind dates.

“Wanna meet my friend Shelley?” the text read. “She’s smart, funny, pretty and has a great career.”
Of course, I replied. Two weeks later, I went to dinner, walked the NYC High Line, and went bowling with the most amazing, beautiful, sweet, funny, kind-hearted woman in the entire world. Five minutes after the date ended, I was ready for date No. 2.

This is a woman who makes me a better man just by knowing her. A woman who shares my sense of humor, my taste in pop culture, and my general sensibilities about so many things in life that I felt as if this was too good to be true.

A woman who loves me for who I am, supports me in everything I do, and doesn’t at all find it strange that a 36-year-old man screams at the TV as if the players can hear him during Jets and Rangers games.
I knew exactly what to do with a woman like that: Keep her around.

So last Sunday afternoon, under a brilliant New York City sky, I asked this woman of such extraordinary kindness and beauty to marry me.

She said yes.

And so I am engaged, that strange state between boyfriend/girlfriend and husband/wife, a blissful place where everything seems possible in the future.

I am deliriously happy. And deliriously lucky.  I don’t know how or why I got so fortunate, but I ain’t questioning it.
When you get a gift like this, you hold on tight and never let go.

** My father sent me this the other day and it made me laugh. A lot. It’s for HP Printers, and well, it’s babies on roller skates, how could that not be fun???

**Finally today, I bring you a story from the state where the impossible happens regularly: Nevada.

Google applied for, and received permission, to test their all-new driverless cars legally in that state. Apparently, according to Google, “automated cars  use video cameras, radio sensors and a laser range finder to ‘see’ other traffic, as well as detailed maps … to navigate the road ahead.” There is no driver needed, though one is typically in the front seat ready to take control if need be.”

I think this is great news. Now we can all feel like aristocrats, sitting in the back seat while we are driven to work. I think it’ll make driving safer having machines do all the work; they aren’t going to be texting, drinking coffee and playing with the radio dials all at once like we humans do.

Although I have to say, when the automated vehicle cuts you off and you flip it the finger, it’s gonna be so distressing when you realize there’s no person to direct your anger at.

One response to “A love story, starring me and a great woman. The brilliant HP commercial with babies. And driverless cars in Nevada? Yep.

  1. Congrats, my man. Couldn’t be happier for you. Can’t want to hear details of how you popped the question (and how sure you were, in advance, of what the answer would be). That move back to New York just looks smarter every day, right?

Leave a Reply

