I’m running a 10k for a good cause, and I need your help. A beautiful response from a TV anchor to a bully. And Danny Bonaduce gets his face bitten by a fan.

The bad part about my not having a full-time job right now is that I don’t have a full-time job.

I wasn’t able to land a classroom teaching position in New York City this fall, after finishing my grad school certification in the spring, and am hoping to at least start substitute teaching soon (subbing in New York City ought to at least give me lots of blog material).

So for now I’m doing freelance writing, my environmental blog stories and press releases, that kind of thing.

However, the good part of not having a full-time job is that, at age 37, I’ve gotten myself into the best shape of my life. I’ve mentioned a few times on here that I began to take running seriously in the past year or so, and have really upped my training in the past two months.

When I got to being able to run four miles at a time, three days a week, I knew it was time to enter a 10k (6.2 mile) race. (I’m now up to five miles per run, which excites me and surprises me all at once. Never knew I could do it).

And so I have taken the plunge, entering the Long Island Run for the Warriors 10k in Babylon, N.Y. on Oct. 20.

Which is where you, my wonderful readers, come in. I’m trying to raise money for the charity “Hope for the Warriors,” which is a Wounded Warriors-type organization that helps care for veterans returning from war in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Hope for the Warriors helps families and veterans physically, emotionally, psychologically and financially, and by all accounts seems to be a first-class organization.

I hate to ask people for money, because I know times are tight for a lot of us. But I strongly believe in the mission of Hope for the Warriors, as they try to do right by men and women who have experienced such horrors.

Here’s a link to my donation page; if you can spare even a few dollars, I would appreciate it very, very much.
Thanks. And I guarantee I’ll be thinking of all of you on the morning of Oct. 20 during the race, along with muttering, “Why the heck won’t my feet move anymore?”

**This was a video that knocked my socks off Tuesday night. A woman named Jennifer Livingston, anchor at a TV station in La Crosse, Wisc., received a pretty rude email about her appearance from a viewer recently. So Tuesday, Livingston responded, in a heartfelt, beautiful way.
If even five girls who are self-conscious about their weight watch this video and are inspired, Livingston’s terrific speech will be worth it.

**Finally, did you see this bizarre story about Danny Bonaduce? Seems the old child star from the 70s-turned-crazy-man-in-the-21st-century was at a personal appearance in Seattle the other day, where he works as a radio DJ, and a fan came up and asked if she could kiss him.

As all men do in this situation, Danny said yes, and the woman wrapped her arms around his neck and chomped down on his cheek, leaving a pretty nasty-looking mark.

“They were tiny little Chucky teeth. Man, they just gnawed like piranhas,” Bonaduce said.

The woman was apparently drugged out of her mind on bath salts.
Not that you have to be on drugs to want to injure Bonaduce, of course.

Leave a Reply

