Teaching dogs to drive, for real. It’s Hanukkah, so we can all listen to Adam Sandler again. And the stories behind “Freaks and Geeks.”

And a happy Friday to all of you fine people. Today’s Good News Friday starts with news that is good news for canines and people who don’t like driving.

Apparently three dogs in New Zealand are being taught to drive. I know this sounds like the beginning of a joke, but it’s true. Watch the above video and be very afraid.

Me? I hope all dogs learn how to drive. I’m sick of the Long Island Expressway traffic; with a pooch at the wheel, I can take a nap in the back. Or, since roles will be reversed, I can stick my head out the window with my tongue out.

**To all my Jewish readers, I wish you a Happy Hanukkah. The annual eight days of presents and lighting menorahs begins Saturday night, so as always here on the ole’ blog, a little Adam Sandler to get us in the mood.

This song still cracks me up whenever I hear it, especially the “fine-looking Jew!” part.

freaksandgeeks

**Finally, oral histories of news events and pop culture seem to be all the rage on the Internet these days; seems I can’t go more than a day or so without seeing one.
Which is great, I think; I love hearing the stories behind the stories. Today I was pointed toward Vanity Fair’s superb oral history of the best TV show no one ever saw when it was on, “Freaks and Geeks.” (It’s long, but it’s Friday, you can slack off work.)

Like millions (OK, thousands) of others, I caught up in re-runs a few years after it went off the year, and felt cheated that such an honest, painful, hilarious look at high school only got to do 18 episodes.

Lots of great material in here, including Judd Apatow knowing Seth Rogen would be a star right away, and how the whole cast pretty much had a crush on James Franco.

Read it weep that we never got to see Bill Haverchuck go out on a date.

Leave a Reply

