Same-sex marriage in Washington: A photo says it all. “Homeland” nears the finish with no logic in sight. And a little kid hams it up with cheerleaders

washingtonstate.gaymarriage

It’s not remarkable anymore, states allowing same-sex marriage. It’s wonderful, isn’t it, that it’s becoming less and less of a big deal? Future generations will look back and wonder exactly what was so scary and threatening about two people who love each other getting married.

The state of Washington held its first same-sex marriages on Sunday, when the state’s new law became official. Take a look at that terrific photo from the front page of the Seattle Times, and this photo here, and tell me what anyone could possibly object to.

Little by little, the stigma has fallen away. And every once in a while, it’s nice to see progress in the smiling faces of humans who love each other, like the people above.

homelandcarrie

**OK, I admit it. After weeks and weeks of pooh-poohing all those who say “Homeland” has taken plausibility and reality and stretched all to hell, and that it’s starting to affect their enjoyment of the show, I’m starting to change my mind.
Sunday’s episode was ridiculous and awesome all at once, but for once for me, the ridiculousness quotient was higher. You’re going to ask me to believe that afterCarrie escapes from Abu Nasir’s clutches, no one at the CIA de-briefs or asks her questions about that, she then wanders back into the abandoned warehouse looking for our favorite terrorist, and where dozens of SWAT team members have failed, she figures out where Nasir is hiding?

Then, after Nasir kills a SWAT team guy (who went in alone, which is also something that would never happen in real life), he doesn’t kill Carrie, and with her screaming and yelling it still takes like five minutes for anyone else to show up? OK, fine.

But in addition to all that, we’re now supposed to believe that Brody’s a good guy, and he and Carrie are truly in love and belong together? Nope.

It sounds crazy, but Saul’s scenes were the best of this last episode. Man, Mandy Patinkin is some kind of great actor. He and Estes are terrific foils.

I have no idea what’ll happen in the season finale; I would love it as a fan of the show if the writers had the cojones to actually kill Brody. I know it might damage the show, and Damien Lewis is so good in his role, but I feel like for the show to have credibility moving forward, Brody must die.

So that’s what I hope for. And I hope the finale doesn’t have me yelling at the TV angrily, like Sunday’s episode did.

**Finally today, you’ve gotta love a kid who gets his time in the spotlight and totally lives it up.
If you had told me when I was this kid’s age that I’d get to dance on an NFL field at halftime in front of a dozen gorgeous Tampa Bay Bucs cheerleaders, I would’ve said you could kill me right afterwards, because life wouldn’t get any better.
Seriously, look how much fun this kid is having! Very jealous of him.

One response to “Same-sex marriage in Washington: A photo says it all. “Homeland” nears the finish with no logic in sight. And a little kid hams it up with cheerleaders

  1. Hello there I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really found you
    by accident, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb b.

Leave a Reply

