As my wedding nears, anxiety rises. The Chinese man who played videogames for 6 years straight. And a very cool Norwegian rock video

isolated-wedding-expenses

So my wedding is getting closer to reality, with just about six weeks to go.

And until recently, it’s been a remarkably stress-free planning time. We have been engaged for about a year, my beautiful fiancee and I, and the millions of decisions that have had to have been made have been handled pretty smoothly.
No fighting, no arguing, no anguish over the guest list; for those who know me, this is a MUCH different experience than my previous wedding planning experience six years ago with my ex-wife. (for instance, this time I’m actually getting a say in stuff.)

But in the last week or so, things are starting to get a little tense and muddled inside my head. We’ve scheduling meetings with the band and the photographer and the invitation responses are starting to trickle in and there are seating charts to make and table cards to order and rehearsal dinners to plan … and, well, the enormity of the wedding is starting to set in.

Not panic, not fear, just… you know, a little anxiety. I could not be more excited for my wedding day and the person I’ve chosen.

But you know, planning a wedding is a pretty big deal. And it hits me sometimes.

**OK, next we have something you just don’t see every day. A really cool video from a Norwegian rock band called Real One. I just thought visually this was pretty amazing.

chinesevideogame

**Finally, a story that leaves me dumbfounded and depressed for humanity. A Chinese man named Li  Meng has been living in an Internet Cafe in China for six years. Playing video games, and nothing else.

Day after day, he sits at the machines, sleeping during the day, playing games at night. Every day. For six years.

One person told the Beijing Times: ‘He generally comes at night to play the game, gets sleepy during the day and sleeps here. From time to time will be out to take a bath.”

Truly horrifying and frightening; apparently video game addiction is a major problem over there, but 6 years at the same cafe, every day???

 

Leave a Reply

