Good News Friday: A small tribute to the woman I’ll be marrying tomorrow

savethedate.1

I know I usually feature good news going on in the world in this space on Friday, but today’s Good News Friday is highly personal.

It’s about my incredible fiance Shelley, who tomorrow around 7 p.m. will become my wife.

I am the luckiest man in the world; I really am. On August 22, 2011, I met the most amazing woman. We were fixed up by a mutual friend who told me she knew a girl from college who was single, had a successful career, was very pretty, and had an outlook on life that matched mine.

I had just started dipping my toe back into the dating pool, six months after my divorce. I had no idea if I was even ready for a relationship.
Little did I know that a five-hour first date that included walking along the NYC High Line, a couple of bowling games (I was prepared to let her win, but she beat me fair and square), and a nice dinner would lead to all this.

My bride is amazing in so many ways that to list them all here would take a few hours.

She is the kindest, most compassionate person I have ever met. Since our first date she has always tried her hardest to consider my feelings, but I realized early on that I’m not special in that regard; she does that for everyone.

There’s not one person in her life without a story of how Shelley once was kind to them, above and beyond what was called for. I know this because they’ve told me these stories, and they always make me smile.

She’s a beautiful woman, inside and out. Her smile could melt an icecap, and her warm heart just gives and gives and gives.

My bride is smart, she’s insanely fun to be around, and some slightly bad taste in TV shows aside (seriously, how much “Castle” can a person watch? It’s the same plot every episode!), I could not have met a more perfect match.

I cannot wait to spend the rest of my life with her, because whether we’re curled up on the couch watching reruns of “The West Wing,” or doing something slightly scary like para-sailing in Mexico, she makes every day so much fun.

I love her so much, and I will pinch myself every day that she has, for some reason, agreed to marry me.

And that’s the good news on this Friday: Tomorrow, one extremely lucky man will get hitched to the greatest woman in the world.

9 responses to “Good News Friday: A small tribute to the woman I’ll be marrying tomorrow

  1. Lovely words — congratulations to you both!

  2. Very sweet, Michael. We can’t wait to celebrate with you all! Mazel Tov!!!

  3. Big hugs to you Michael. Congrats!

  4. Excellent, Michael. Congratulations to you both!

  5. Pingback: The Power of Love (Following the Power of Bad Love) | Jeff Pearlman

  6. Congratulations… so very happy for you both!

  7. Stumbled in from Jeff Pearlman’s site. Congrats to you.

  8. Shelley stockner

    Your cousin Robin told me about this blog. I would have never known about it. Well today I googled you and found it. Michael I am so happy for you and Shelley. The two of you make a wonderful couple. You complete each other. Rick and I wish you a lifetime of happiness and lotts of laughter.

    We love you both,
    Shelley and Rick

  9. That is such a beautiful tribute to your now wife. It was a most special wedding of two people who are made for each other. We could not have been more thrilled to be be a part of this day. We wish you every good thing that life has to offer. We love you so much!

Leave a Reply

