The frustration of dealing with NYC condo board. An incredible baseball throw by Jose Iglesias. And a cool Maroon 5 concert moment

NYC_Condo

I thought I knew what it feels like to be powerless. We’ve all felt it in different situations in our lives from time to time.

But what I’m learning now is the true meaning of powerlessness: When you’re at the mercy of a New York City condo board.

So my wife and I planned to look for a bigger apartment in Manhattan after we got married; life in a one-bedroom place can get pretty cramped, pretty fast, even with half our stuff in a storage locker for the past year.

Surprisingly, finding a great place to rent wasn’t that hard; it only took us a few weeks, we were able to stay pretty much in our neighborhood, and we’re doubling our square footage (always a good thing).

But alas, that was the easy part. We signed our lease, passed all the financial barometers we needed to, filled out a whole bunch of other paperwork for our new building’s condo board, and then we waited.

And waited. And waited some more. We’re told it could take up to a month for us to get final approval; today it’ll be about three weeks.

We have no idea what the condo board is doing. They could all be on vacation for all we know. They could be calling my fifth grade teacher Mr. Leeds, to ask why I fought so much that year (I was very angry in 1986. I’m not sure why.)

The point is, you as a renter have no idea when or if you’ll get approved.

Condo boards are a funny thing here in New York; people will go to great lengths to stay on their good side, and they seem to treat anyone who wants to move into their building with suspicion.

I know there’s nothing nefarious going on. I know we’re just one couple waiting on one apartment, and condo boards all across the city are doing the same thing, making people wait.

Just part of the charm of New York City, I suppose. But I’m sitting here packing and hoping, just waiting for that blessed phone call.

And I’m utterly powerless.

**Jose Iglesias is a hot-shot young shortstop who was recently traded from the Boston Red Sox to the Detroit Tigers.

I’ve only seen bits and pieces of the kid, but man he sorta seems like the second-coming of Ozzie Smith. (And I don’t say that lightly: I loved Ozzie Smith as a kid, especially when he was on “The Baseball Bunch,” a very underrated and forgotten show that I may need to write a blog post on someday. But I digress.)

Watch this amazing throw Iglesias made Monday night; I watched it three times and I still can’t believe he pulled it off.

**Finally, I love it when bands do stuff like this. Adam Levine and Maroon 5 were playing a concert the other night in New Jersey when he spotted a cute little 11-year-old girl named Rachel. At the 3:30 mark of this video, he hands her the guitar, then explains why. And gives her a free guitar lesson.

So cool. More on the story here.

One response to “The frustration of dealing with NYC condo board. An incredible baseball throw by Jose Iglesias. And a cool Maroon 5 concert moment

  1. There are certainly a great deal of details that way to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. We offer the views above while general ideas but obviously there are inquiries like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in truthful good belief. I wear?t determine if best practices emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job can be clearly identified as a fair sport. Both youngsters feel the influence of just a moment’s pleasure, throughout their existence.

Leave a Reply

