NSA employees use their power to spy on their lovers. Why the hell are we going to war in Syria? And a hockey player cracks me up

spy1_2652445b

**Quick update to Tuesday’s blog post about Reilly Opelka, a tennis phenom I first wrote about when he was 11: He played really well but lost his first match in the U.S. Open Juniors, 6-4, 6-4. Still, it was a kick watching him on such a big stage. I said to his parents afterward, “I have a feeling this is going to be an annual tradition, meeting at the Open to watch Reilly,” and they laughed. Here’s the story I wrote on Reilly Tuesday for Flaglerlive.com, a website in his hometown.

So this story apparently came out last week but in all my chaos with moving apartments I missed it. Which is a shame, because I laughed out loud when I heard it.

In addition to sorting through phone records and doing some data-mining on American citizens and their cell phone calls, it seems the employees at the National Security Agency have been doing something else during work hours: spying on their spouses and boyfriends/girlfriends when they’re travelling.

Which, let’s be honest, is exactly what you or I would do if we had the same capability.

**Next up, I have to admit that I’ve been in a bit of a news vacuum the past week, as I’ve spent most of my days at the U.S. Open or unpacking boxes. But the more I hear about our impending invasion of Syria, the more freaked out I get.
Does this not sound exactly like what went on in 2003, when an administration swore to us that they had evidence of a Middle Eastern country doing dastardly deeds, and potentially worse?
Do we not have John McCain and Lindsay Graham once again beating the drum for war in the Senate? Do we not have a Secretary of State who keeps telling us it’s imperative we do something, or the world will fall apart?

I mean, President Obama, does it not freak YOU out when John Boehner and Eric Cantor are enthusiastically supporting a position you have taken?

I certainly don’t have all the answers, and maybe Syria did use chemical weapons against its people.
But to my former colleagues in the print and TV media, I beg you: Please, please PLEASE be a little more skeptical in your reporting than you were about Iraq in 2003. Think of the thousands who have died because of that senseless war Bush and Cheney inflicted on America, and please raise some red flag questions to our leaders. Thank you.

This sentence from Rod Dreher, a conservative writer, also scared the hell out of me:

“Unless there is a rebellion in the Congressional ranks, in both parties, we are going to do this thing. We are going to bomb Syria to make Syria safer for al-Qaeda and other Islamists. This country never, ever learns.”

As usual, Andrew Sullivan speaks to this fear of yet another intractable conflict better than I can.

**Finally today, the last word goes to Teemu Selanne, a hockey player I always liked, and now I like even more after this video explaining why he’s not retiring just yet:

Leave a Reply

