Detroit’s new way to deter crime (it involves dummies). My favorite Christmas song makes me happy. And Jason Kidd, an utter disaster as coach

Pinkflying

Writing this late Monday night after getting back from seeing Pink at Barclays Center. I raved about her last time I saw her so I won’t do another blog on it, but hot damn, that woman can put on a great f’ing performance. Great voice, great acrobatics again, and as you can tell, she flew (above at the very top) through the air at the end. Fantastic, fantastic show.

The city of Detroit has gotten so much bad publicity for so long, you have to feel at least a little sorry for the residents there.

And you can’t really blame them for getting creative when it comes to battling crime.

A local man who shall remain nameless was tired of having his house broken into, and none of his previous security efforts have worked.

So he decided to dress up two CPR dummies as gangsters, and stationed them on his porch.

And, amazingly, it has worked. His house hasn’t been broken into since.

Detroit police have stopped by to congratulate him on a novel and clever idea, the man said.

I say “Bravo” for the brilliant idea. Reminds of when Long Island first got HOV lanes on the highway, and people would bring dummies with them and put them in the passenger seat to make it look like a second person was in the car, so they could use the HOV lane.

I just hope this guy in Detroit doesn’t start talking to the dummies and treating them like real people. Hey, people get lonely sometimes, you know?

**Next up, I suppose it’s officially Christmas season since I have to keep changing the channel and the radio station to avoid hearing the dreary Christmas tunes we all endure every year.

But on the plus side, I did get to hear this wonderful song this morning; it’s my favorite Christmas tune, and I run it here on the blog every year.

It’s the Bob Rivers comedy group, singing “The 12 Pains of Christmas.” As always, the “rigging up the lights” guy has me laughing out loud…

jasonkidd

**You know, what I’m about to write about Jason Kidd and my beloved Brooklyn Nets is not a second-guess, because as soon as the NBA legend was hired as coach last summer, I called my friend Tony and screamed “Are they freaking kidding? Hiring a guy with NO experience to run a team that’s built to win now????

So it’s not all that surprising to see my pathetic Nets with a 5-14 record. Oh yeah, I know it’s unfair to totally judge Kidd right now, with so many of the Nets’ stars, like Deron Williams, Paul Pierce, Andrei Kirilenko and Jason Terry out injured; if those four were healthy, you have to believe the Nets would be better.

But even accounting for that rash of injuries, Kidd has been terrible as a coach. The Nets get destroyed in every third quarter, showing he has no clue about making halftime adjustments. He all but begged respected coach Lawrence Frank to be his top assistant, then 15 games in “re-assigns” Frank to menial tasks.

Then there was the bush-league “intentional spilling of soda on the court” a few weeks back, as Kidd tried to bend the rules and get an extra timeout after he blatantly spilled his drink on the court, forcing a delay.

The guy is one of the greatest point guards ever, and I love him for bringing the Nets to the NBA Finals a decade ago. But as a coach, he’s totally lost. Most great players in all sports make lousy coaches (see Magic Johnson, Ted Williams and Mike Singletary, just to name a few), because they can’t translate their greatness to other players.

But Kidd just seems utterly confused and unable to make coaching adjustments, and I wonder even once the Nets get healthy, if he’ll be able to do the job.

Sigh. Everything looked so good over the summer for the Nets, but now they’re back to being the losers I’ve sadly come to know and love.

Leave a Reply

