“Parenthood” goes out on a great note. Mental Floss pays tribute to the late, great “Freaks and Geeks.” And the Rangers-Flyers series has divided my family

Parenthood

Another season of the infuriating but fascinating and often lovable NBC show “Parenthood” has just finished up, and as usual, the season finale is so good and heartfelt that I almost overlook all the things wrong with this year’s show.

Like the insane storyline of Kristina running for mayor of Berkeley, or even more insane idea of her and Adam opening up a charter school for autistic kids. Or Sarah Braverman being a horrendous mother and all-around not-great person, yet getting more men chasing after her than any woman her age in history.

But dammit, as often as I get mad at the show, I still love it. The season finale (SPOILER ALERT) was beautiful in so many ways; Amber reuniting with her still-majorly damaged physically and mentally ex-fiance Ryan was beautiful. Ray Romano’s Hank, who I’ve completely turned around on and now root for, pouring out his heart to Sarah a week earlier, and now trying so hard to be the man she can date; and the Joel/Julia separation storyline, which has dragged on forever, continues to be interesting because of the great acting. (Completely improbable that Victor would win an essay contest and read so flawlessly out loud given what we know about him, but that scene in the school library was just so touching.)

The finale was sweet and tender with the whole Braverman family house being sold storyline coming to an end, and Drew going to see his new girlfriend, and Haddie suddenly being a lesbian (my wife and I both thought it was hilarious that the kid grew up in free-love Berkeley, yet discovered she liked girls at Cornell).

I don’t know if NBC is going to renew “Parenthood,” it seems to always be up in the air. But this show has tremendous heart, and for all its flaws, continues to win mine. Please, NBC, keep it on the air.

**Next up, the great website Mental Floss has been on a roll lately writing about beloved former TV shows, and this weekend they put out a list of “20 Things You Didn’t Know About” one of the all-time greats, and a show I’ve talked about several times on this blog already, “Freaks and Geeks.”

Couple of great nuggets in this story: Everything that happened to the characters on the show actually happened to one of the show’s writers (man, that episode with the fake keg party must’ve been hilarious in real life, too), Lauren Ambrose from “Six Feet Under” was almost Lindsey Weir (she’d have been great), and there were some awesome storylines for Season 2 that never got to happen (Daniel in jail? Yeah, that would’ve fit).

This was such a classic show; so wrong that it only got one season.

 

rangersflyers

**Finally today, Sunday was a great day (mostly) for me. My mother hosted a post-Passover lunch for our extended family, and I got to see some people I hadn’t seen in a while. We ate, we laughed, we ate some more, and I got to play catch with my 9-year-old nephew, which is always a good thing.

So everything was great… except when we watched the hockey game together. I was born and raised a Rangers fan, just like my father taught me to be. My sister married a man from outside Philadelphia, who is a die-hard Flyers fan and is raising his child to be one, too. (Hey, he has other good qualities, but she had to marry a Flyers fan???)

Anyway, the Rangers and Flyers played Game 2 of their Stanley Cup playoffs first-round series Sunday, and me and the enemy watched some of the game together. My bro-in-law and nephew cheered when something good happened for Philly. I cheered when something good happened for the Rangers.
They got to cheer more. I didn’t get to taunt a 9-year-old, which is probably a good thing.
The Flyers won. Then we ate.

Playoff hockey is life.  But family’s family. Still, I ain’t watching no more games with any Flyers fans this year…

 

Leave a Reply

