A gay marriage foe was a drag queen in his past life. A house built upside down in China is very cool. And the disgusting Nigerian girl-abduction story gets worse

drag-queens-560

Ah, I so love it when bigoted zealots get exposed for things they did in their previous life that, ahem, would be considered quite at odds with their current political views.

Let me introduce you to North Carolina Republican state senate candidate Steve Wiles, who is vehemently supporting a constitutional amendment in the state that would ban gay marriage.

After weeks of denying it, Mr. Wiles has admitted that yes, one of his past careers was as female drag queen Mona Sinclair, and he was also a promoter of the “Miss Gay America” pageant.

“I think that everyone has their own choices to make and I’m fine with everyone making their own. For me, from a religious standpoint, just for my life, for me, it just was not something that I wanted to continue,” Wiles said to Business Insider of his drag performances. “Of course it was an embarrassment, but you know, you move on. You live life, and you change, and you make yourself what you want yourself to be. And that’s where I am now.”

The Winston-Salem Journal also reported that Wiles lied repeatedly, to state GOP officials and to the media, about being Mona Sinclair.

I just don’t get it. I don’t understand why these candidates who clearly have sympathies for gay rights and gay people continue to lie and pretend to be so hard-line about the issue of same-sex marriage. It does no one any good.

By the way, I would LOVE to see what a “Miss Gay America” pageant looks like. The talent competition alone would probably be stupendous! We have 1,000 TV channels now, can we get this thing televised? And for the love of Vinnie Delpino, we gotta get Neil Patrick Harris to host, right?

**Next up, my smart friend Amanda sent me this video of a brand-new house in Shanghai that was built upside down. The toilet is my favorite part; but just watching this makes me want to go walk on the ceiling.

Or, if you’re Lionel Richie, maybe Dance on the ceiling.

nigeria.kidnapping

**Finally today, a story that’s not getting nearly enough attention in this country: the despicable kidnapping of hundreds of girls in Nigeria by an Islamist terrorist group called Boko Haram, whose leader now says he will sell them.

Understand: This is a group who cares nothing about human life, who simply took more than 300 school-age girls and plans to sell them to men who will do God-knows-what with them.

This happened on April 15. THREE weeks ago. And we’re sitting here in this country talking about Donald Sterling and our pathetic, do-nothing Congress?

“I abducted your girls. I will sell them in the market, by Allah,” a man claiming to be Boko Haram leader Abubakar Shekau said in a video first obtained by Agence France-Presse.

“There is a market for selling humans. Allah says I should sell. He commands me to sell. I will sell women. I sell women,” he continued, according to a CNN translation from the local Hausa language.

Finally, after a week of intense spotlight in social media and other forums, it seems like America is paying attention. Nicolas Kristof with a terrific column about the issue here.

Leave a Reply

