Good News Friday: College students re-create the “Friends” opening scene. Cute sea otters rescued! And I’m off to Big D for the weekend.

dallas

Greetings from Texas! Specifically, Dallas, Texas, where your humble blogger is spending the next five days, attending a family wedding and seeing this great city where I’ve never been. (I’m a little afraid that if I spend a few days here in Texas, I’ll start believing in creationism, stop believing in science, and have a distinct urge to buy oil.)

Planning to hit the JFK museum downtown today (yes, I’m a history buff but no, I don’t think there was a conspiracy to shoot the man), and hopefully see Cowboys Stadium, the Nasher Sculpture Garden, and maybe even the South Fork Ranch where they filmed “Dallas” (my mother would be so proud, she loved that show. Go ahead, hum the theme song in your head, it was a classic.)

A short Good News Friday post today, because I’m sorta fried after waking at 5 a.m. to start the day of travel Thursday (although I just discovered that there’s a square TV window built into the mirror in the bathroom here at the Omni Hotel in downtown Dallas. Freaked the hell out of me. But a cool feature.)

**OK, so I may never have been prouder to be a University of Delaware alum than I am after seeing this clip. Some communications students from UD re-created, exact frame by frame, the opening credits sequence from “Friends” in the early seasons.

Watch the UD re-creation, then watch the two sequences side by side. Pretty awesome.

Juno Sea Otter

**And finally today, a sweet story about some orphan otters, because hey, I bet you haven’t read a story about otters in a long time.

From this Huffington Post story:

“Two sea otter pups found stranded on California beaches this past winter are settling into their new digs in Oregon this week, and by the looks of things, they’re already feeling right at home.

Pups Oswald and Juno were found abandoned along the California coast in November and January, respectively, and rescued by the Monterey Bay Aquarium’s Sea Otter Research and Conservation program. After struggling to find experienced otters that could rear the pups for release back to the wild, the staff found them homes at the Oregon Zoo and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. They’ve since been deemed non-releasable by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.”

seaotters2

I mean come on, how cute are they? I think instead of raising a child with my wife (whose birth is only three months away) we’re just gonna get some otters. I bet they will sleep through the night.

One response to “Good News Friday: College students re-create the “Friends” opening scene. Cute sea otters rescued! And I’m off to Big D for the weekend.

  1. Have to love otters, but those little critters can also be vicious. Have fun in Dallas. I am guessing you won’t be concentrating too much on that wedding too much. Hope you can escape for a few minutes and check the score.

Leave a Reply

