Richard Martinez rages against guns, and who will listen? RIP, Maya Angelou. And the Rangers go for a spot in the Cup Final, and I’ll be there

This is a short clip of an interview with Richard Martinez, the father of one of the victims from the mass shooting on the UC-Santa Barbara campus last weekend.

This is the sound of a human heart suffering, a human heart crying out “WHY?”, wondering what it will take for change in our nation’s gun laws to take place.
He is angry. He is anguished. He is in so much pain.
And no one in Congress is listening. They don’t listen to the majority of Americans who agree there should be stricter gun laws. They don’t listen to people like Richard Martinez, or the familes of Sandy Hook victims, or Aurora, Colorado, or Virginia Tech… They just don’t ever freaking listen.

And so sadly, all of Richard Martinez’s pain, all of his anguish, falls on deaf ears. I hope you’re as disgusted about that as I am.

**”People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” — Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou died Wednesday, and man, what a life she lead. Poet, author, teacher, leader, her titles could go on and on. She was a magnificent, courageous woman who led a life well-lived, and she will be missed.

I watched this again Wednesday night and was moved; it’s Angelou’s inaugural poem from Bill Clinton’s inauguration in 1993.

What a wonderful lady.

Rangers.Game6

**Finally, tonight is Game 6. Rangers-Canadiens. And I’m lucky enough to have a ticket.
And I’ve been going back and forth between excitement and dread all day. Excitement, because this is the biggest and most important Rangers game I’ve ever been to as a fan. My beloved team that I’ve rooted for for three decades-plus has a chance to make the Stanley Cup Finals for the first time in 20 years. I could be part of a raucous celebration, one I’d never forget and one that I’d tell my currently in-utero child about long into their teenage years.

Then again, this is the Rangers. They never, ever do things easy. They haven’t won a playoff series in fewer than 7 games since 2008. They are at home, with the crowd behind them, the better goalie, the better TEAM, and yet I still could see myself and 18,000 others trudging out of MSG tonight at 10:30, pissed off and scared that the Rangers have to win a Game 7 in Montreal.

I am excited. I am nervous. I will have knots in the pit of my stomach all night.

This is why we love sports. Right?

Leave a Reply

