4 weeks till fatherhood, and I think I’m ready. The O’Bannon case should help kill the NCAA. And Jason Sudeikis hilarious again as a English soccer coach

cribphoto

I’ve read that there are a whole bunch of stages you go through when you’re about to become a father.

There’s the “oh my God!” initial excitement when you find out your wife is pregnant, as something you’ve hoped for for a long time is finally going to come true in nine months.
Then there’s the growing panic and anxiety, as you start to read about all the things you have to do get ready, how expensive, time-consuming and life-changing children are, and how your life will never be the same.

Then there’s the “acceptance” stage, where things start to calm down, followed by more anxiety, then calm, then anxiety again when you realize you only bought three changing pad liners and is that going to be enough? (Your emotional mileage may vary).

In about four weeks, a human being who didn’t used to be there will suddenly appear, and be what I love more than anything in the world. He/she (we still aren’t finding out the gender, which seems to annoy several of our relatives) will be completely foreign to my wife and I, yet we will very quickly learn the joys and frustrations of parenthood, and it’ll be awesome.

It’s funny; for most of my beautiful wife’s pregnancy, I’ve been the Nervous Nellie, worried about accidentally dropping the baby and what if they won’t stop crying and how am I going to handle being a stay-at-home father, and all the other things new parents worry about.

But in the last few weeks, my mind has settled. I’m no longer frantic, I’m no longer making my wife crazy with my constant worry, and basically, I’m ready for this baby to show up.

Our apartment is too, with the crib (above) coming in last Friday, and us clearing out most of a Long Island Buy Buy Baby store on Sunday, buying “immediate essentials” we’ll need for the first few weeks.

Last night while I couldn’t sleep I was literally lying awake thinking of how excited I am, instead of terrified.

I’m sure the terror will come back once those hospital doors close behind us and it’s just us and this tiny bundle of joy, and suddenly we’re totally responsible for keeping them safe and alive.

But right now, I can’t wait to get started.

**Next up, you may remember last year when NBC Sports started showing Premier League games, they did a hilarious commercial featuring Jason Sudekis as Ted Lasso, an American coach trying to learn to coach soccer.

Well Ted Lasso is back, and he’s just about as funny as he was before. He almost makes me want to watch soccer. Almost.

**Finally, a major ruling came down Friday that looks like it will finally set the stage for end of the prostitution of college athletes by the NCAA and its member universities.

The long-awaited Ed O’Bannon case was concluded, with Judge Cynthia Wilken siding with the ex-players, who were suing because their likenesses were being used in video games and other merchandise without notice or compensation.

Finally, legal proof that it’s insane how much these kids are taken advantage of, both during their college careers and afterwards. I know it’s not going to lead to immediate, huge changes like paying athletes or giving them, you know, some more actual benefits they can use, but it’s a huge step in the right direction. For far too long the NCAA has made billions off the backs of these athletes, and finally, finally, the tide is turning a little. (Here’s a really good legal explanation of what the ruling means)

One response to “4 weeks till fatherhood, and I think I’m ready. The O’Bannon case should help kill the NCAA. And Jason Sudeikis hilarious again as a English soccer coach

  1. Just don’t drop the kid when the jets or the rangers are screwing up. You didn’t watch the PGA yesterday? I am not a big golf fan, but that was really exciting.

Leave a Reply

