Watching “Mr. Mom” again in a whole new way as a stay-at-home Dad. “Episodes” is back, and better than ever. And cats vs. dogs, part 4,554

So since I’m a stay-at-home Dad now I felt it was my Constitutional obligation as an American and a father to watch the 1982 classic “Mr. Mom” again, for the first time in, I don’t know, 20 years.

Since the movie came out the term “Mr. Mom” has become ubiquitious to stand for any Dad who doesn’t work outside the home, but stays inside and takes care of the kids.

I have to tell you, I loved “Mr. Mom” when I first saw it, but watching it now as a SAHD, it strikes me as equal parts pathetic and hilarious.

First, the title: I know it was 1982, but really, a man who stays at home is called “Mom?” Kind of insulting.

Then I had to laugh at the complete ineptitude of Michael Keaton’s character Jack. This guy can’t operate a washing machine, has no idea what to do at a supermarket, and pretty much acts like he’s never been around his kids before.

I’m here to tell you, in 1982 my father knew how to work a washing machine and go food shopping, and he wasn’t Superman.

Man, times have changed.

Don’t get me wrong, the movie was still funny. The washing machine come to life scene, the part where Jack has to take his son’s blankie (sorry, woobie) away, and lots of other bits were great.

But man, as sexist as so many Hollywood movies have been through the years toward women, this one was pretty sexist toward men.

Just about all the fathers I know, whether they’re stay-at-homes like me or working outside the house, are far, far more savvy about their kids’ lives than Keaton’s character in “Mr. Mom.”

I feel I’m sounding grumpy about “Mr. Mom” here. I don’t mean to; it was a fine flick for its time.

But man, it is just oh so dated, and a terrible representation of what good fathers really are.

**Next up, this skirmish in the centuries-old battle between dogs and cats. Can’t we all just get along?

I just love the cat’s expression the whole time, like. “really? We’re really doing this now?”

Episodes

**Finally, a few words about the funniest show on TV, that sadly not enough people watch. “Episodes” is back for its fourth season on Showtime, with the hilarious season premiere occurring last Sunday. Matt LeBlanc is once again playing an exaggerated version of himself, as a has-been actor on a terrible sitcom written by British couple Sean and Beverly Lincoln.

“Episodes” is laugh-out-loud funny, and this season has gotten off to a roaring start. I cannot recommend this show highly enough, and it boggles my mind how crap like “2 1/2 Men” gets nominated for Emmys every year, and “Episodes” can’t get a sniff.

Anyway, watch it.

Leave a Reply

