Good News Friday: The pizza delivery guy who got a $1,000 tip. The Swedish Chef does “Rapper’s Delight,” awesomely. And a gay kid who got bullied gets a beautiful apology

(I’m not writing about baseball today, but this home run/bat flip by Toronto’s Jose Bautista Wednesday was just about the coolest, most bad-ass move I’ve ever seen. Carry on.)

And a Happy Friday to you all. I know Dodgers fans aren’t too happy, but yeah, the rest of us can be. How ’bout those Mets!

We start today with a fabulous story from Pickerington, Ohio. A pizza delivery woman named Natasha Boyer brought a pie to the Sycamore Creek Church last week, and was rewarded with a $1,046 tip.
“We took up a special offering for a tip for you,” Sycamore Creek Church pastor Steve Markle told Boyer in front of the church’s congregation earlier this month.

“It’s $1,046, to be exact, and I hope that this can help you. I don’t know what’s going on in your life.”

Boyer, a 21-year-old single mother, woke up on Oct. 4 to find an eviction notice taped to her door. She went to work at a local Domino’s unsure of how she would make rent.

“It will help a lot. Thank you so much. Thank you everybody,” she said between sobs as the congregation cheered.

The mother of one told NBC 4i that the tip “blessed me so much and it saved my house and my son’s house.”

She told the station that, thanks to the gift, she was able to pay her rent and the late fee.

“They saved me,” Boyer said of the congregation. “God saved me from losing my place. I mean, it was truly the biggest blessing that I’ve ever received.”

What a fantastic pay it forward kind of moment. Here’s video of it; her reaction at 1:45 is so great…

**Next up, I don’t care if you’re a fan of “The Muppets” or not, I defy you to watch this clip from this week’s episode of the Swedish Chef belting out the classic “Rapper’s Delight” and not smile.

Go ahead, watch it again. And a few more times. It’s beyond fantastic. I haven’t even watched the whole episode yet, but now I can’t wait.

**Finally today, this was a beautiful video with a great message about maturity and tolerance. An Irish YouTube star named Riyadh had a very rough childhood thanks to being bullied for being gay. “I hated every minute of it,” he said.

But now that he’s older, he decided to try to talk to one of his biggest bullies, to see why the boy did what he did, and to have a chat about it.

The result is … fantastic. And poignant. And touching. The good stuff starts at 1:50…

Leave a Reply

