An enormous win for the Jets over the Giants: I’m going to enjoy this one for a while. The Seahawks and Pats moving in different directions. And Julianne Moore, acting her ass off in Times Square

giants-v-new-york-jets

It’s not easy being a New York Jets fan, no matter where you live in the world.

But in New York, it’s really not easy. Because everywhere you go, everywhere you look, everywhere you listen and read, you’re reminded that the Giants are the best and most important football team in the state.

It’s the Giants who have the four Super Bowl titles, the Giants who are a first-class organization, the Giants who have the great tradition and fans and yada yada yada I want to throw up. Hell, for more than 20 years the Jets played their home games in a place called GIANTS STADIUM!

The Jets and their fans are second-class, and there has never been any doubt about that. There have been maybe five moments of my life as a football fan where I have thought, “I’m glad I’m a Jets fan. I’m glad when I was 6 years old I chose the Jets to root for, and not the Giants.”

The whole rest of the time, I definitely feel I made a mistake.

Which is why Sunday felt so incredible. So satisfying. So… great. For three quarters, big brother bullied little brother around the field, as the Giants grabbed a 20-10 lead. I was depressed, I was mad, I would’ve thrown things at the TV if I hadn’t been at my in-laws family Hanukkah party (oh and hey, Happy Hanukkah to my fellow Members of the Tribe out there.)

And then, the heavens opened, the angels sang, and Ryan Fitzpatrick and Brandon Marshall decided to make some beautiful music. Giving me flashbacks to Ken O’Brien and Wesley Walker, the Jets QB and wide receiver just dominated the fourth quarter. The Jets scored 10 points to tie the game, the defense played great, and then in overtime, Gang Green kicked a go-ahead field goal.
The Giants drove down inside the Jets’ 30 and had a chance to tie, but Josh Brown’s 48-yard field goal try was wide, and euphoria erupted in Jets-ville.

Huge, huge win. Moves the Jets to 7-5 and firmly in the playoff race. So many heroes of this one, after such a miserable first few quarters. Fitzpatrick was sensational, best game a Jets QB has played in a decade. Marshall is the best Jets receiver since Keyshawn. Eric Decker was stellar, as was Bilal Powell, as was the defense for most of the game.

Man, this one feels good. So rare to be able to look down on the Giants. Maybe that’s not very polite of me, but dammit, it feels good.

Couple other quick-hit NFL thoughts…

— Looks like the Seahawks are back and ready to kick ass again. What a destruction of Minnesota Sunday.

— Patriots losing streaks are as rare as an interesting Bill Belichick quote, so pay attention to this one. New England fell way behind Philly Sunday, 35-14, and almost came all the way back before falling short. Pats are banged up big-time but suddenly Tom Brady’s crappy receivers are reverting back to form.

— The Falcons are done. Never seen a team go from 5-0 to 6-6 and look this bad. Disgraceful.

— Cam Newton for NFL MVP, and there really is no other choice. What a thrilling player he is to watch. I don’t care about his silly celebrations and histrionics; guy has grown up and has fun playing the game.

— The Cleveland Browns lost in epic fashion Monday night, and the Detroit Lions lost on a Hail Mary Thursday. Which reminds me once again: As miserable as it usually is being a Jets fan, I could still have it worse. I could root for the Browns or Lions.

**Finally today, maybe you’ve heard of the comedy show “Billy on the Street,” on TruTV, where Billy Eichner ambushes people on the street with funny comedy bits.

I don’t watch the show but have occasionally seen clips, and laughed. This one, though, is downright hysterical, and if my admiration for the awesomeness that is Julianne Moore could possibly be increased, it is now.

Billy and Julianne decide to go to Times Square and tell tourists that instead of giving money to begging schmoes in superhero costumes, they should make a small donation and watch an Oscar winner act out scenes from her movies.

The reactions are priceless; my two favorites are the woman walking behind Moore at 2:13, and the Japanese guy who has no freaking idea what is going on at 2:36. Warning: Definitely some NSFW language here, so use headphones if at your desk.

I love this so much.

One response to “An enormous win for the Jets over the Giants: I’m going to enjoy this one for a while. The Seahawks and Pats moving in different directions. And Julianne Moore, acting her ass off in Times Square

  1. I don’t know if this is bad as the Falcons collapse. But in 2010 the Bears were 7-3. However in that 7th win against the Chargers Cutler broke his thumb trying to tackle a defender after another Cutler interception. The Bears ended up the season 8-8 instead of being in the play offs

Leave a Reply

