The most powerful and stunning commercial of the year. I take in Duke basketball at MSG and am really excited. And Corden and Kendrick make more TV magic

It takes so much. It takes so much to really shock people anymore, especially with a short public service commercial intended to help change minds on an issue that seems so intractable.

This is the most powerful ad I’ve seen in a long, long time. I don’t want to tell you what it’s about, because I don’t want to blunt the force of it.

Just please take a few minutes and watch until the end. Just an amazing, amazing ad.

It was put out by a group called Sandy Hook Promise, and its devastating message will hopefully sink in. The students who are being ignored are the ones who need our help the most.

**Next up today, you people should know by now that I love, love, love me some Anna Kendrick (definitely on my Ross Gellar-approved “laminated” list of celebrities my wife will let me be with should, you know, the opportunity arise), and I do love some James Corden and Billy Eichner, so there was no way I’d miss this little musical number they did on Corden’s show last week.

Really funny and great.

tatumjaysonchuckliddy

**Finally today, I went to Madison Square Garden Tuesday night to watch my beloved Duke men’s basketball team play Florida. I saw the Duke-Kansas game at MSG a few weeks ago, but the Blue Devils were very shorthanded in that one, three of the stud freshmen who are supposed to lead Duke back to the Final Four were all hurt. (Gotta say, though, that the atmosphere at MSG that night, with Duke-Kansas and Kentucky-Michigan St. playing a doubleheader, was the best environment for hoops I’ve ever seen at MSG. Crowd was nuts.)

Tuesday night Duke finally had most of its freshmen playing, and … man, was I impressed. Florida is a legit Top 20 team, and Duke had to play really well to beat them, by 10, 74-64.

It was only the second college game for superstar freshman Jayson Tatum, and man oh man was he great. He started slow but came on strong in the second half, scoring 16 points. Guy is 6-9, can shoot, dribble, rebound and score in traffic. He dominated stretches of the game, and he’s not even in game shape yet. He’s going to be so much fun to watch this season.

This Duke team, with the freshmen like Tatum, Marques Bolden and hopefully Harry Giles healthy, could be all kinds of scary. I know everyone reading this probably hates Duke, but as a Duke fan I”m extremely excited for the rest of the year.

Could be national title No. 6 for Coach K.

One response to “The most powerful and stunning commercial of the year. I take in Duke basketball at MSG and am really excited. And Corden and Kendrick make more TV magic

  1. Anna Kendrick is great. She is really great in anything but most of the movies have not been great. She is a movie coming out in March according to IMBD. That Late Late show from last week was originally shown Nov 21. They were in reruns last week. She was really good in Up In the Air and 50-50.

Leave a Reply

