Richard Marx and Daisy Fuentes foil crimes on a plane to Seoul! A pretty moving and touching SNL sketch from Kate McKinnon as Hillary. And “Rent-A-Jew” is a thing in Germany and it’s not as creepy as it sounds.

richardmarx-koreaflight

My friends, there are some days where I swear news happens in the world just so I can blog about it, because it is so far up my alley it’s already a strike. I mean, let me put it this way, if I didn’t blog about this next story, my loyal readers would wonder why I didn’t.

Richard Marx is a famous ballad crooner from the 1980s and ’90s. You know his hits: “Now and Forever,” “Hold on to the Nights,” “Don’t Mean Nothin.'” His wife is Daisy Fuentes, who my fellow Gen X’ers will remember as a gorgeous MTV VJ and model.

They were on a Korean Air Flight 480 from Hanoi to Seoul on Monday night, and all kinds of shit went down. A passenger sitting near them started attacking other people on-board, with a knife. According to Marx’s Twitter feed, the flight crew was “completely ill-trained.”

So Marx and other passengers, over the course of what he says was four hours, helped subdue the man and st0pped him from hurting others, after his knife wounded two passengers and a member of the flight crew.

Eventually the attacker was subdued and arrested when the plane landed.

I’m positively brimming with thoughts: First, shouldn’t the attacked have recognized that Richard Marx would be “Right Here Waiting” for him if he started to get crazy?” I mean, “Should’ve Known Better” is one of his best songs, of course Richard Marx is going to jump in and be a hero!

Fuentes says she has video of the event, which also begs the question: Is that really the best thing to be doing in that situation? Maybe you could’ve helped out a little?

Good for you, Richard Marx. I’ve gotten a lot of crap over the years for digging his music, but answer me this: You think Dan Hill gets in there and stops this guy? You ever see Michael Bolton take down a guy with a knife? Show me where Christopher Cross did a heroic act like this!

God bless Richard Marx. And now, enjoy some of his music…

**Next up, I was a little late catching up on “SNL” this week, and honestly other than the “cold open” I rarely watch the show or search for clips anymore. But my wife is a huge “Love Actually” fan and thought I’d like this sketch with Kate McKinnon playing Hillary for maybe the last time. It was buried late in the show but I thought it was adorable and funny. A spoof of the movie “Love Actually.”

**And finally today, bear with me on this one, this story isn’t as offensive as it first sounds. But just to hook you, this is what some headlines about this read: “German program allows citizens to rent a Jew.”

OK, now hang on… here’s the details. There are 81 million people in Germany, and only about 230,000 Jews (yes, we all know why that is).

So most Germans alive today never met a Jewish person, never seen one, interacted with one. And as we all know, knowing and interacting with people of different faiths and races almost always leads to greater understanding and empathy for them.

So a new company called ‘Rent-A-Jew” in Germany has begun a sort of seminar service; a German organization hires Rent-a-Jew to put together a presentation about Judaism, its history and beliefs, etc. Then the Jewish person goes to talk to students, workers, or any other group to explain to them what Judaism is like and what its feelings and beliefs are.

“A lot of people want to be more than just the regular Jewish stereotypes in Germany, reduced to victims,” Alexander Rasumny, one of the organizers behind Rent-a-Jew, told Vox.com “A lot of people want to be seen in their own right.”

I know, I know, at first it sounds a little creepy and weird. But I actually think this is a good idea and service; one of the only ways to stop hatred and anti-Semitism is to educate people, to enlighten them about why a certain group deserves their respect and honor, not scorn.

I realize “Rent-A-Jew” will rub many people the wrong way. But I actually think it’s a terrific idea.

“The most important thing is that people get used to the idea of discussing things with Jews instead of only talking about Jews,” Rasumny added. “In the seminars, it’s great: Once you accept the idea, you’re ready for hearing what we have to say.”

 

Leave a Reply

