The best Tweets about what marriage is really like. Taking a break from my Twitter addiction taught me a few things. And Coach K’s surgery and why this ain’t 1995 all over again.

marriagetweets

Ask anyone who’s married, and they’ll tell you that laughter is the most important thing in a relationship. Well, at least ONE of the important things.

Which is why this story cracked me up so much. The Huffington Post took the time last week to compile what they felt are the 30 funniest Tweets about marriage from 2016, and I have to tell you, my wife and I laughed so hard reading these that we had to stop to catch our breath at least 4-5 times. I wish I could paste all of them in here, but the whole list can be found here. Here are a few of our favorites…

1. @IanMendes: “Marriage is essentially two people taking turns pushing down the top of the kitchen garbage so they don’t have to take it out.”

2. @b1p0larbear I wondered if my wife was asleep so I held my phone a foot over her face and turned it on.
Then I dropped it onto her nose.
She’s awake now.”

3. @iwearaonesie “*pulls curtain back while wife is in the shower*
Me: Are we – stop screaming, it’s just me- are we out of Cheetos?

4. @mooooooog35: “Me: I spent HALF as much as YOU usually do on groceries.
Wife: Congratulations.
[2 hours later]
Me: We have nothing to eat in this house.”

twitteraddict

**Next up today, I think I’ve mentioned a few times on here how I’ve become addicted to Twitter the past few years. For the most part it’s been great, but after all the election hype and then constantly checking the site for the next month to see what horrible thing Trump had just said, I was burned out. I needed to be “off” from news and the world for a while, so I decided to take a break and stayed off Twitter for the last eight days of 2016.

What did I learn? First, I’m embarrassed to admit how difficult it was in the beginning. For the first 2-3 days my index finger would literally automatically hover over the Twitter app at least 5-6 times a day, and I had to stop myself. Pretty sure that’s a sign of an addiction.
But after 3-4 days, it became normal to not log on. I spent far less time on my phone. It was good.  I started to appreciate how being connected all the time, and constantly having FOMO, can be bad for you.

When I logged back on on Jan. 1, I was kind of thrilled to be back in the loop. But I definitely became a little more aware of how Twitter can consume me. And I’m going to try to stop that from happening.

It really is OK to be in the dark every once in a while.

Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski cuts down the net after his team's 68-63 victory over Wisconsin in the NCAA Final Four college basketball tournament championship game Monday, April 6, 2015, in Indianapolis. (AP Photo/Darron Cummings)

**Finally today, sometimes I just need to use this space to rant a little bit, so if you care not a whit about college basketball, or Duke, this probably isn’t for you.

But as you may have heard, the greatest coach in the history of college basketball, Mike Krzyzewski, announced on Monday that he needed immediate back surgery and would miss at least the next month of what has already been a very strange season for my favorite team.

The Blue Devils have lost two games so far, got blown out on Saturday, have had more injuries at one time than I ever remember a Duke team having, and now some idiots on the Internet and in the media are saying that K is intentionally stepping away and having surgery now because his team is falling apart. And that this is just like 1995, when he famously left the team midseason to have back surgery, Duke fell apart and had its worst season since K took over in 1980.

To which I say, are you people who are saying this out of your freaking minds??? First of all, no coach, especially one as competitive as Krzyzewski, would voluntarily take a month off in the middle of the season, so obviously he’s in serious pain to be doing it.

Secondly, this Duke team is WAY more talented than the ’95 squad was. That team was in its first year post-Grant Hill, and Duke had so-so talent, with Jeff Capel and Cherokee Parks leading the way.

This Duke team is loaded. It has 3 or 4 sure-fire NBA first-round picks, and is finally getting healthy. Even without Mr. Tripper, Grayson Allen, the Blue Devils should win at least 12-13 ACC games and finish in the top 3. Jayson Tatum, Harry Giles, Luke Kennard .. all of them are better than anyone on that ’95 squad.

And oh yeah, last time a longtime assistant who’d never been a head coach, Pete Gaudet, took over. This time Capel, who was a head coach at two other schools, takes over.

It just bugs me when the media make lazy connections because they think the public is stupid.

OK, I feel better now. Thank you. Carry on. Let’s go Duke.

2 responses to “The best Tweets about what marriage is really like. Taking a break from my Twitter addiction taught me a few things. And Coach K’s surgery and why this ain’t 1995 all over again.

  1. you never disappoint….ME: I just don’t feel normal, Husb: honey, you’ve never been normal…….I don’t even own a cell phone, let alone have a Twitter account……..go Heels…….

  2. I know saying some one is the best of anything is kind of subjective. But I might put John Wooden ahead of coach K. 11 Championships. A 70 some game winning streak. Wooden was 5 years younger than Coach K is now when he retired. He probably could have added a few more championships if he kept going.

Leave a Reply

