Daily Archives: February 2, 2017

Good News Friday: The teacher with a special handshake for each kid is awesome. Remembering my favorite all-time Super Bowl ad. And a 5th-grade boy’s love letter is beautiful

barry-white-teacherhandshake

And a Happy Friday to all of you out in Internet-land! It’s Super Bowl weekend, and after this miserable NFL season, I think we’re all just hoping for the same thing: The Patriots get destroyed. OK, maybe only people outside of New England hope for that.

We start today with a video that went viral 100 times over this week, but in case you haven’t seen it, it’s pretty awesome. A teacher in North Carolina named Barry White has created a unique way of greeting every one of his students each morning at Ashley K-8 school in Charlotte.  Yeah, he has 58 students.

“I had a simple handshake with one student last year who wasn’t even in my class, but every day she would wait for me in the morning so we could do our handshake and I saw how powerful it was,” White tells PEOPLE.

Some of them are simple, some of them are crazy intricate. But all are special to each student, and when it all comes down to it, that’s what teaching is all about: Making each student feel special.

“I like that if I’m not having a good day, I can come to his class and I know I’ll have the opportunity to turn my day around.” says 10-year-old Zhyir Williams. “He can make you feel better with a handshake.”

You go, Barry White!

**Next up, I always like to run my favorite Super Bowl commercial before the big game. Now there have been a ton of great ads, like the Budweiser frogs, the Cindy Crawford Pepsi ad, the famous Mean Joe Greene Coke ad, the “1984” ad from Apple… all brilliant.

But I have to say this one is my all-time favorite. Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Terry Tate, Office Linebacker:

**And finally today, a beautiful little love note from a 5th-grade boy, to his first crush. Ah, we all remember our first crush: Mine was on Jill Deruga, in 2nd grade. Man, she was cute. We gave each other “I Love You” banners for Valentine’s Day that year, because clearly at 7 years old we knew exactly what love was.

love-note-news1

Anyway, this is a love note from a love-struck boy to his new crush, Abby. In case you can’t read the note above, it reads:

“Dear Abby, your eyes remind me of the evening sky. My heart felt like broken glass until I saw you, and then I felt like I had every Pokémon ever. I love how you play Zelda even when people think it’s weird. If you liked me back it would be my first ever victory,” he wrote. 

Just poetry, man. Whoever that 5th grader is, there’s a Hollywood scriptwriting award in your future. I really hope Abby gave him a chance.