Daily Archives: June 30, 2017

Good News Friday: The major league umpire who stopped a suicide attempt. An amazing singer on “America’s Got Talent” wows me. A Canadian cancer survivor gives back to sick kids. And a Muslim-owned restaurant in Montreal offers free meals to any who are hungry

So much good news this week, and since I really wanted to wipe the slate clean after a disgusting Thursday in the news, I’ve got four Good News Friday items to share…

First, nobody likes baseball umpires. Least of all baseball fans.
All the men in blue hear are complaints, arguments, and insults about their vision, that they have an improper relationship with their mothers, yada yada yada.

But if ever an ump deserved love, it was this week, and the ump who should get it is John Tumpane.

Wednesday in Pittsburgh, Tumpane was out for a jog on the Roberto Clemente Bridge, a few hours before that night’s Pirates game he was to officiate in. He suddenly saw a woman climb over a railing and stand perilously close to the water. Tumpane instantly sensed that the woman was about to commit suicide, and he spent the next several hours with her, in heroic service. First, he hooked his arms around hers and asked her to come back to the other side of the railing. From the amazing Pittsburgh Post-Gazette story about this incident:

No, no, no,” she answered. “I’m better off on this side. Just let me go.”

“I’m not going to let you go,” he said. “Let’s talk this out. We’ll get you back over here.”

“No one wants to help me,” she repeated. “Just let me go.”

“No, we’re here to help you.”

“You’ll forget me tomorrow.”

“I’ll never forget you,” he said. “You can have my promise on that.”

Eventually, police, fire, and other volunteers came to help Tumpane, and the woman was safely brought back.

“You never know what somebody’s day looks like,” Tumpane said. “It’s a nice day, everyone’s out for a walk, and somebody’s not having the same day you’re having. I was just glad to help.”

Great call, John (sorry, I had to.)

**Next up, it’s been awhile since I’ve featured a musical performance on the blog, but this gentleman who performed on “America’s Got Talent” the other night blew me away. His name is Johnny Manuel, he sang Whitney Houston’s “I Have Nothing,” and my jaw was on the floor 30 seconds into the song.

What a voice! Just beautiful stuff. (he starts singing at the 1:00 mark).

**Next, two stories from Canada, a country I adore. First, meet Faizal Khamisa, a 26-year-old sportscaster for Canada’s SportsNet network. Ten years ago he was diagnosed with cancer, and thought he might die. He survived, thanks to some amazing care at Sick Kids Hospital in Toronto, and has decided to give back.

He’s volunteered to have his head shaved live on TV Friday night, to raise money for Sick Kids Hospital, to buy toys for children who are suffering from cancer.

As I write this,the GoFundMe page Faizal started has earned more than $9,200. That’ll buy a lot of toys and put a lot of smiles on kids’ faces who need all the smiles they can get right now.

**And finally today, meet the Muslim restaurant owners in Montreal who give free meals to anyone who needs them, because they’ve been there.

“It is something personal to me and my partner,” said Ali Amiry, a co-owner.

“First of all, we believe in charity, in donation, and sharing things. And also, we notice there is need for this because there are many homeless people.”

Tell me again that hate triumphs over love. Never, ever, ever does it.