This Alec Baldwin/movie set tragedy is such a monumentally stupid accident that ended in death. “Curb Your Enthusiasm” is back! And I celebrate with one of my all-time favorite scenes. And in the NFL, the Bengals make a huge statement and the Chiefs look shockingly feeble.

alecbaldwinshooting

I try not to get too infuriated about current events that aren’t politics-related, but there are certain “accidents” that absolutely should never, ever happen.
Like, there’s NO possible way on God’s green Earth that this should happen. And somewhere near the very top of that list should be an actor accidentally firing real bullets on a movie set and killing another human being.

As you have already surmised, I’m talking about the awful tragedy that happened on a New Mexico film set last Thursday, when Alec Baldwin fired what was supposed to be a prop gun and killed the movie’s cinematographer, Halyna Hutchins, and injured the director, Joel Souza.

There is one question, and only one question, that should be asked in the immediate aftermath of this disgusting and deplorable accident: What were LIVE BULLETS doing in ANY gun on this movie set???

That’s it, that’s the absolute number one thing that I want to know. Why would a live round, which is what media reports have said the prop gun Baldwin fired contained, ever, ever, EVER be in a gun on a movie set?

I understand why security guards on the perimeter of the set, or walking around the set, might have real guns with real bullets. But what possible explanation could there be for a fake gun, used as a set piece, having bullets in it?

There have been lots of stories about the case so far, about Baldwin being understandably distraught, about Hutchins and her life being tragically snuffed out, etc. But I’ve yet to see one story, not one, explain, in this day and age of technological wizardry, why a bullet, or even a blank which contains powder that can be deadly, needs to be on a set.

Just completely inexplicable to me. Computers and technology can create whatever effect a live round can. And because of stupidity, a woman in New Mexico died last week.

**Next up today, Sunday night brought the season 11 premiere of “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” which is one of the funniest TV shows of all time, in my book. I have loved so much of it, have bashed it at times when I feel like it just wasn’t funny anymore (the Season 9 “fatwa” season was terrible), but overall it has brought me so much joy.

I can’t possibly choose one clip to illustrate my excitement that it’s back, but I’ll go with this one from the episode called “Grand Opening,” when Larry and friends open a new restaurant, and hire a chef with Tourette’s Syndrome, and his disease manifests itself with the chef screaming curse words in a stream, out loud. And of course the chef has an outburst with a restaurant full of people and, well, it’s just hilarious what happens next. (WARNING: Definitely Not Safe For Work to listen to this around other co-workers.)

So glad to have this show back.

bengals.burrow

**Finally today, it was surprisingly another hugely one-sided week of games in the NFL, highlighted (ahem) by the green and white team that plays in New Jersey getting nipped by 41 points Sunday up in New England. I cannot express in words how pathetic my football team is, and I am actually starting to think that Robert Saleh is just as woefully unqualified to be an NFL head coach as was Adam Gase.

Moving on to other NFL thoughts, some that don’t make me want to hurl…

— The biggest statement of the day was made by the Cincinnati Bengals, who went into Baltimore and tattooed the Ravens, 41-17 to move to 5-2 and a first-place division tie with Baltimore. Joe Burrow looks very much like a franchise QB, the Bengal defense contained Lamar Jackson, and Jamar Chase looks like a future All-Pro receiver.

I like it when teams that are chronically bad finally get good, and the Bengals look like a very good team. I’d hate to be the team that plays them next (checks notes), oh it’s the Jets, perfect!

— Hey, all those people ready to call Sam Darnold “reborn” and a “whole new QB” after a few weeks, anybody hear them now? My former Jets franchise QB was awful in a loss to the Giants Sunday, getting benched as the G-Men actually showed a pulse and improved to 2-5.

Maybe the Jets were right to move on from Darnold, huh?

— I’m pretty sure this sentence has never been uttered since the abomination that is Thursday night football was invented by the NFL, but by far the best game of next week happens in just three days! The undefeated Arizona Cardinals against the one-loss Green Bay Packers. A rare weeknight tilt that’s actually going to be a great game!

— Finally, I think we can officially admit the Chiefs stink. Not saying their run as a great team is over, but this year they’re not going anywhere. They were dog-poop awful against the Titans Sunday, losing 27-3. What the hell happened to this amazing offense?

2 responses to “This Alec Baldwin/movie set tragedy is such a monumentally stupid accident that ended in death. “Curb Your Enthusiasm” is back! And I celebrate with one of my all-time favorite scenes. And in the NFL, the Bengals make a huge statement and the Chiefs look shockingly feeble.

  1. I remember when Brandon Lee was killed. There is/was a vacant lot on a corner of Market Street where he died. That was truly tragic as was the death of the cinematographer. She just looked like such a cool person. Have you seen what that POS Dumper Jr. is doing, selling t-shirts that say ‘Guns don’t kill people, Alec Baldwin kills people.’ This is revenge for Alec Baldwin skewering his dad. What a pathetic person Jr. is.

    I laughed so hard at Curb. Growing up we had a neighbor kid with Tourette’s, and it was no big deal. Jim didn’t swear but he barked. You got used to it and after a while didn’t really notice it. But he made that into a great catch phrase for his car dealership. He was called ‘The Barker from the Park’ and did quite well. Still alive and barking. His younger sister is my oldest and best friend.

    Go Bears.

  2. Sanford Sklansky

    A tragic accident. I thought it was wrong to use murder in your headline. Kind of indicates that Baldwin did this on purpose. A pretty bad Sunday for football. Only one or two close games. My Bears stink. Fire Nagy already. I am already looking forward to the next baseball season. Hockey is not looking to good for me either.

Leave a comment