Good News Friday: Two super-smart kids from New Orleans solve an impossible math problem. A Rangers star dances with a baby and a grandpa and it’s delightful. And a bookstore in Tokyo has a lovely way to honor its customers.

Happy Friday, world! We are squarely into spring, the weather has been awesome here in NYC this week, I got pulled over Thursday night for speeding and the friendly police officer only gave me a warning (it was a lovely surprise, I totally was speeding) and my New York Rangers are going to win tonight because I’m going to be there watching it happen.

Lots of good news this week, but I want to start with a remarkable “60 Minutes” story from a few weeks ago, that I just got around to seeing.

Let me introduce you to Calcea Johnson and Ne’Kiya Jackson, two high school girls at a New Orleans all-girls school at St. Mary’s Academy. They were able to solve a math problem involving the Pythagorean Theorem that has befuddled math geniuses for 2,000 years.

They did it on a challenge from their math teacher, and it’s astounding. They’ve been honored and feted and have become local celebrities, and it has shone a light on their terrific school.

This story gave me all the warm and fuzzies. These girls are fantastic, and I know they’ll be huge successes in whatever they do.

**Next up, as I mentioned my beloved New York Rangers play tonight, they’re in the conference finals and I am excited. So when I saw this adorable video posted by star center Mika Zibanejad’s wife, well, yeah I had to post it.

Here’s Mika, their baby, and what appears to be the baby’s grandpa, dancing in delight.

tokyobookstore

**And finally from a Twitter user named @suzuranfairy, comes this lovely photo from a Tokyo bookstore called Book Mansion: “Found a very cool bookstore in Tokyo! Each square on the bookshelves is rented to a different person. The renters are free to curate and sell whatever books they want in their shelf space. My favorite was the shelf filled with handmade photo books of the renter’s cat.”

What a fabulous idea. Showing off your book tastes and renting space. I hope a store in America does this, too.

Leave a comment