A brilliant scheme to lure deadbeat dads with Alabama football tickets. College newspaper kids confront a … typewriter. And the “Saved By the Bell” interactive challenge

So me and other bloggers sometimes make fun of law enforcement. Because, you know, some cops do stupid things.
But man, sometimes they also have brilliant ideas to catch criminals.
The Alabama County police recently came up with a genius plan to catch deadbeat parents who’d been avoiding paying child support.
They sent them all letters telling them they’d won tickets to this year’s Alabama-Auburn football game, by FAR the biggest sporting event in the state.
And when the “winners” showed up, they got a nice pair of handcuffs around their wrists for their trouble.
Check out the video; I love the “cheerleaders” and music playing when they first walk in.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

**My generation’s love for “Saved By The Bell” seemingly knows no end. So of course I was fascinated by this interactive YouTube game based on the show. The ridiculous yet awesome premise: You are Zack Morris, and you have to decide which of your three friends you want to help with their problem. Choose one, see how it comes out, then go back and make a different choice.

All kinds of fun!

Typewriters are as foreign to college kids today as tipping the pizza delivery guy well.
So the website journoterrorist.com got some current college journalists at Florida Atlantic University to put out an entire issue of their newspaper the old-school way: Photos in the darkroom, stories pecked out on a typewriter, the whole nine yards.
God, this brings back wonderful memories of my days at Delaware, when we still did “paste-up” and I often burned my fingers trying to send a headline through the wax machine (my old Review mates are smiling if they’re reading this, because they’ve burned their fingers, too.)
Check out the results of the experiment here.

3 responses to “A brilliant scheme to lure deadbeat dads with Alabama football tickets. College newspaper kids confront a … typewriter. And the “Saved By the Bell” interactive challenge

  1. I am now not sure where you are getting your information, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thank you for great info I was on the lookout for this information for my mission.

  2. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just
    wanted to say great blog!

Leave a comment