Daily Archives: February 4, 2010

The Onion slays me, Harry Reid is a moron, and life imitates art in Fla.

Three stories on a night where my attention span seems to be as short as I am …

I’ve written a few times about my love of The Onion, the greatest satirical newspaper. Their stories kill me quite often, but this headline in particular really made me laugh.

“Nation’s strangers decry negative portrayal among children”

And the lede kills me, too:

“Addressing reporters from behind a row of juniper bushes, a coalition of sketchy single men gathered in Washington on Monday to protest the “negative, demeaning, and often hurtful” portrayal of strangers when it comes to the nation’s children.”

**So one of my favorite lines from “Seinfeld” is one that Elaine says to Jerry: “You know, sometimes when I think you’re the shallowest man I’ve ever met, you somehow manage to drain a little more out of the pool.”

Well, I thought about that last night when I saw what Harry Reid said. With Harry, you see, just when I think he’s as big a schmuck as he possibly could be, he somehow manages to set the bar just a little higher.

If you haven’t heard about this yet, President Obama was talking to citizens in New Hampshire, when while preaching fiscal responsibility, he said “when times are tough … “you don’t blow a bunch a cash in Vegas when you’re trying to save for college.”

OK, no controversy there. The President was making a simple analogy, saying you can’t waste money while saving for your kid’s college education.

And yet, somehow, SOMEHOW, Harry Reid decided that what Obama said was a huge slap in the face to the people of Nevada. Yep, this is what Reid said yesterday.

“I just spoke to the White House and told them that while the President is correct that people saving for college need to be fiscally responsible, the President needs to lay off Las Vegas and stop making it the poster child for where people shouldn’t be spending their money. “I would much rather tourists and business travelers spend their money in Las Vegas than spend it overseas.”

WHAT???? I’m remarkably confused, as is Reid most times. So let me get this straight, he’s saying Obama should encourage people, if they’re going to blow their money, to blow it in Las Vegas instead of Monte Carlo? And he seriously, seriously thought Obama was taking a shot at the people who LIVE in Las Vegas instead of just using an analogy?

This man is too stupid to be elected dogcatcher. What a pathetic, pandering display. As if real Nevadans were offended by what the President said. Despicable.

**And finally, a story that I swear I didn’t make up.  Once again, I turn my own state of Florida for the highest of high comedy.

A Polk County man, Michael Ray Ekes, was wanted for stealing a 1998 Dodge Durango. When the police found him, he was in an apartment.

Playing the video game “Grand Theft Auto.”

In a related note, a man wanted for leaping on lily pads in an effort to reach the top was arrested while playing “Frogger” the other day.