Daily Archives: February 9, 2010

Sarah Palin’s cheat sheet. And in praise of Ray Romano’s new show

So, yeah, I know I said a long time ago that I didn’t care one bit about Sarah Palin, and was annoyed that the media gave her so much attention.

But when she keeps announcing herself, loudly and clearly, as a moron, well, I just can’t myself.

Have you seen this yet? Probably, but it’s worth sharing again. During a sit-down “interview” at the Tea Party Convention (do you think Lipton’s got the sponsorship deal there?), she stopped and looked at her hand for a moment. And what was on her hand? TALKING POINTS. Specifically, energy, tax, and lift American spirits. Watch for yourself, and marvel that this woman who was almost thisclose to the Presidency, CAN’T REMEMBER THREE WORDS when she’s talking.

Oh yeah, I may be meeting the former sportscaster herself on Sunday. She’ll be at the Daytona 500. So will I. I’m hoping she gets to be the starter, so I can watch her look down at her hand when she yells “Start, your … wait, wait, it’s coming to me, hang on … ENGINES!”

**So I’m one of the few people in America who hated “Everybody Loves Raymond.” I just thought it wasn’t funny, and as a sportswriter, I wondered how come, in the few episodes I ever watched, Ray Barone never actually did any work.

Ray Romano never did it for me; never thought his stand-up was all that funny, either. So when I heard he had a new show on TNT called “Men of A Certain Age,” I ignored it. Then three people whose TV opinion I trust told me it was really, really good.

So I’ve been catching up on Hulu. And I must admit, this show is fantastic. Andre Braugher and Scott Bakula play Romano’s friends, and the series explores the friendship of these 40-something guys. It’s funny, it’s so smartly written, and has a lot more heart than I would’ve expected. The scene in Episode 4 where Braugher’s character wins a battle with City Hall, then jumps around outside on the steps of the government building, with the “Rocky” music playing? Brilliant.

Check it on TNT or Hulu. It’s totally turned me around on Ray Romano, and it’s damn entertaining television.

Not as entertaining as laughing at Sarah Palin, but come on, that’s a pretty high bar to leap over.