Daily Archives: February 21, 2010

The greatest “Oh Canada” performance ever. Apolo freaking Ohno! And psyched about Olympic hockey.

**So you may think I’m just getting swept up in all things Maple Leaf because the Olympics are in Vancouver, but I can assure you I’ve had this clip on my Youtube Favorites since it happened. I’ve always loved the Canadian national anthem, maybe because I heard to so much growing up watching NHL games (True story: when my cousin Robby was like, 5 years old, he and my uncle sat down to play a game of table hockey. After my uncle and Robby sang the Star-Spangled Banner, Robby insisted they sing “Oh Canada,” too.)

Without further ado, the greatest, most spine-tingling anthem by 18,000 fans I’ve ever heard. This was from a 2006 Edmonton Oilers playoff game:

**Have to tell you, I watched the short track speedskating last night after we got back from dinner, and if there’s a more exciting two minutes in sports than a short-track race, I’m not sure what it is (don’t give me the Kentucky Derby. Those aren’t always exciting.)

Couple of fantastic races, with our American Apolo Ohno getting a bronze medal after all the dust (and the wipeouts) had cleared. Can’t believe American J.R. Celski made it out of the arena alive after he basically threw down that Canadian guy in the semifinal. He better not walk into a bar in Sasketchewan anytime soon.

Truly breathtaking, how fast things turn in speedskating. It’s like bumper cars, or NASCAR, or whatever else you want to call it when things constantly crash into each other. Love, love, love it.

And how ’bout that huge American women’s win in curling? Down 5-3 to the Brits, the U.S. girls, led by Debbie McCormick, rally to win 6-5 in extra ends (or whatever it’s called). My father-in-law and I were totally riveted.

I love this sport!

***Tremendous day of hockey coming Sunday. Just tremendous. The capper is the U.S.-Canada game at 7:40 p.m. Eastern Time, a rematch of the 2002 gold-medal game (won by Canada). The U.S. and goalie Ryan Miller (above) are definite underdogs. Canada needs this win, psychologically, I think. Both teams will advance to the quarterfinals,I’m certain, but if American can spring the upset here, man oh man, the amount of Maalox that’ll be sold in the Great White North on Monday? Off the charts. It’ll be a great, hostile environment for the U.S., kind of like the one Rocky Balboa faced when he fought Drago in Russia in “Rocky IV.”

Here’s a great preview of tonight’s game from the terrific hockey writer from the L.A. Times, Helene Elliott.